Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best use for Ubuntu and cool features

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Best use for Ubuntu and cool features

Hey I'm new to Ubuntu and Linux and general. I'm used to using Vista. Overall my experience so far is Ubuntu is easier to learn than Vista even if you have had no experience using any Linux derivatives and lots of Windows experience.

So what are some of the best things about Ubuntu? Windows has all the drivers to play newly released games. Mac has the best graphics for Photoshop.

Good things about Ubuntu:
    1. Fast
    2. No cost, $100 dollars for windows hurts
    3. easy to learn
    4. Connected to internet right away if ethernet

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: Best use for Ubuntu and cool features

I agree with all those points, exept that last one, i have wireless and all i do is enter my WPA key and im good to go, so wireless is almost as easy as ethernet.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

LOTS of FREE software, with no mal-ware!!!!
    easier for networking with mac's and HP printers (in my experience)!!
    Virtual Desktops!!!!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Cool Re: Best use for Ubuntu and cool features

Secure

Reliable

Stable

Better Looking than other OS's

Almost infinite configuration variables

Free as in freedom

Think about how much time you save by not scanning for virus, trojan and spyware alone by using Linux.
    If at first you don't succeed - just buy the company and tell them to make the one you want.

Beans

Also, Ubuntu is much faster and less of a resource hog than both Vista and Mac

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat