Thread: headless LAN?

Beans

Exclamation headless LAN?

OK, I'm a newbie, especially on this issue so I don't know any jargon or buzzwords for my "problem" so I am just going to describe the scenario and what I'm seeking help to accomplish.

DETAILS
    I have jaunty/kde3,5 running on my "desktop" PC. I recently built a new box for multimedia; let's call that one "media". It is running jaunty/kde4.2. I have a ViewSonic N3000w that I want to connect to media by DVI. The mobo in media is an EVGA nForce 730a MB 8200 GPU w/ AM2 CPU and 8G DDR2. I have a Buffalo AirStation WHR300N router and a Buffalo Wireless-N USB2 adapter plugged into media. I also have an Adesso wireless trackball keyboard with a USB dongle plugged into media. So that's the new setup; as you can see (hopefully) I did my homework.

SCENARIO
    So I start with everything off, connect the DVI cable from media to the panel and turn them both on. I am expecting two basic things: 1- the display will come up and show me the boot process on media and eventually a desktop, and 2- i expect the wireless devices to automagically connect so that I can share files between desktop and media.

Here's what I get: no display function. Panel works fine in TV mode, but i get no DVI. The ViewSonic has a native 720p and the DVI must be toggled in the panel's OSD setup; it cannot be clicked from the remote. I emailed ViewSonic and they basically tell me to do what I've already done.

SO I lug media over to desktop and connect a cat5 cable to the router. Badaboom, I can see media from desktop, so all is OK there.

QUESTIONS
    Here's what I need help with, and plain newbie English is great, but pointing me to useful links is good too.

I need to figure out what the problem is with the DVI setup. I have no clue how to proceed.