Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: How do I change a partition mount point from /tmp ?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Uppsala, Sweden
    Beans
    2,181
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: How do I change a partition mount point from /tmp ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Bucky Ball View Post
    jocko, why is it then that when OP comments out the /tmp entry in fstab, his machine stalls at boot with an error message, he removes and all is good?
    Beats me. But I don't have any line for /tmp in my fstab, have never had one, and my computer boots just fine.

    Perhaps the /tmp folder that was previously just used as a mount point for the partition has the wrong permissions, so it can't work as a real /tmp?
    Last edited by jocko; September 2nd, 2009 at 09:36 PM.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    419
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: How do I change a partition mount point from /tmp ?

    freeicetime,
    you are clearly getting much better advice from Bucky Ball and jocko, so I will bow out, but to answer your question, there is nothing wrong with swap being on sda5 and /home being on sda7. That is exactly what I would expect, however, your fstab clearly has these partitions the other way around.

    # /dev/sda5
    UUID=488e312f-dd1e-40fb-b90b-24265e70c98f /home ext3 relatime 0 2
    # /dev/sda6
    UUID=de7a43f2-41b6-42ad-a6c0-e759096b3075 /tmp ext3 relatime 0 2
    # /dev/sda7
    UUID=af56cc8b-a392-4589-bbc2-3a1054187a02 none swap sw 0 0

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    257

    Re: How do I change a partition mount point from /tmp ?

    if you got some RAM to spare you should just through /tmp on a ramdisk.. add this line to /etc/fstab
    Code:
    tmpfs		/tmp		tmpfs	defaults,noatime,mode=1777	0	0

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    4

    Re: How do I change a partition mount point from /tmp ?

    Wow, thanks for all the advice everyone! This is a lot to go thru for me and I'm just about to head out of town for an extended labour-day weekend. I won't have a chance to try out your suggestions until I get back but I'll post my results as soon as I have some to report.

    talk to you next week.

    Thanks again!
    Freeicetime

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    In my skin.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Deep South Texas
    Beans
    1,889
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: How do I change a partition mount point from /tmp ?

    type this in a terminal, and post the output

    Code:
    sudo blkid
    this will give us some more drive info.
    "Free software is a matter of liberty, not price." -- Richard Stallman
    So don't forget to tip your software authors!

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    1

    Re: How do I change a partition mount point from /tmp ?

    I ran into the same problem as freeicetime, a program requiring more tmp space than I had on my tmp partition. (Using Ubuntu 10.04, 1GB tmp partition with 3% usage before I run the program)

    Simply commenting the /tmp mount line in /etc/fstab resulted in
    /usr/lib/libgconf2-4/gconf-sanity-check-2 exit code 256
    when X was trying to start.

    Turns out permissions on /tmp changed from
    drwxrwxrwt /tmp (when my tmp partition was mounted)
    to
    drwxr-xr-w /tmp (when no longer mounting anything on /tmp)

    I fixed this doing
    Code:
    sudo chmod 777 /tmp

    and rebooting once more

    /tmp is now no longer a seperate partition, but part of my / partition

    Hope it helps anyone else running into this.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •