Thread: Restore Point equivalent

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Question Restore Point equivalent

Hi all,

I recently started playing with Ubuntu on a home desktop. All good so far, trying to navigate through the wide ocean of possibilities.

One of the questions is: apart from beeing a BAD THING, ******* has a few nice ideas, one of them being a Restore Point. It occasionally saves one's back side or at least some nagging from wife and kids.

Is there any equivalent of that in linux / ubuntu world? I'm guseesing that would have to involve some sort of "version control" system spanning config files (/etc), various bin, lib and other links under /usr, settings in all users' home dirs, etc. All sounds more and more unlikely while I'm writing.

I guess what I'm asking is, say I'm mucking around with installing/updating/configuring software or system and something goes wrong, and something stops working. And, say, being a poet rather than a computer enthusiast, I don't really know what I've actually done. I might have read something on the net and tried it, but I put space in the wrong place. Is there a big Ctl-Z button (logically speaking, not necessarily being an actual button) I can press to undo my last few actions, up to some sort of a checkpoint? Or is it just me and the internet full of friendly computer enthusiasts who will grab my hand and steer me back to the path? That's provided my internet is still up

I know there is backup/restore.

But, being a poet, I don't even know what you mean

I guess I want a miracle (not that ******* is that miraculous). Any chance?

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: Restore Point equivalent

Check this link out : http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=7629686 and see whether that helps . It seems to me that there is no Restore Point like functionality in ubuntu by default .

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal