Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Running azureus in tty2 at startup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario CA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Running azureus in tty2 at startup

    Is there any way to do this? I start it at the prompt with

    Code:
    $ java -jar /usr/share/java/Azureus2.jar --ui=console
    and I can get it to run at startup using the Webmin Bootup and Shutdown script:

    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    java -jar /usr/share/java/Azureus2.jar --ui=console
    I'd like to get this running in tty2 if possible.

    Any help is appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Beans
    3,839

    Re: Running azureus in tty2 at startup

    You can try editing the last line in /etc/event.d/tty2.
    Code:
    exec /usr/bin/sudo -u usertorunas /usr/bin/java -jar /usr/share/java/Azureus2.jar --ui=console
    This may start before you have a network connection established. I'm not sure if that would be a problem.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario CA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Running azureus in tty2 at startup

    Quote Originally Posted by cdenley View Post
    You can try editing the last line in /etc/event.d/tty2.
    Code:
    exec /usr/bin/sudo -u usertorunas /usr/bin/java -jar /usr/share/java/Azureus2.jar --ui=console
    This doesn't work, it causes tty2 to not to spawn at all.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Beans
    3,839

    Re: Running azureus in tty2 at startup

    Quote Originally Posted by bferd View Post
    This doesn't work, it causes tty2 to not to spawn at all.
    It should launch the given command instead of the original getty command. You can try tweaking the command or remove "respawn". Maybe I made a mistake. I haven't tried this since edgy, though. Perhaps it works differently. You did replace "usertorunas" with the appropriate user, right?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario CA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Running azureus in tty2 at startup

    Quote Originally Posted by cdenley View Post
    You did replace "usertorunas" with the appropriate user, right?
    Nope I'm stupid. I think I forgot to tell you.
    I'll try that.

    What do you mean remove "respawn"?
    Last edited by bferd; August 21st, 2009 at 10:43 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario CA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Running azureus in tty2 at startup

    Still can't get it to work.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario CA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Running azureus in tty2 at startup

    Anybody?

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •