Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: ifdown says "interface not configured" when configured

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Kitakyushu Japan
    Beans
    9,362
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    ifdown says "interface not configured" when configured

    This is probably a bug, but I thought I'd try here and see if anyone else had input.

    Ifconfig shows this:
    Code:
    # ifconfig
    eth3      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:02:2d:ba:b6:ee  
              inet addr:192.168.3.6  Bcast:255.255.255.255  Mask:255.255.255.128
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:10474 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:9917 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:11283339 (10.7 MB)  TX bytes:2590060 (2.4 MB)
              Interrupt:10 Base address:0xa080
    The device is clearly connected, as I can ping and browse:
    Code:
    # ping www.google.com
    PING www.l.google.com (66.249.89.147) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from jp-in-f147.google.com (66.249.89.147): icmp_seq=1 ttl=229 time=48.2 ms
    64 bytes from jp-in-f147.google.com (66.249.89.147): icmp_seq=2 ttl=229 time=48.7 ms
    64 bytes from jp-in-f147.google.com (66.249.89.147): icmp_seq=3 ttl=229 time=50.2 ms
    But when I try to take the device down via CLI:
    Code:
    # ifdown eth3
    ifdown: interface eth3 not configured
    I have uninstalled network-manager, and no other GUI network configuration tool is currently installed but the problem persists.
    Last edited by dmizer; August 15th, 2009 at 08:54 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Morrisville, NY
    Beans
    2,153

    Re: ifdown says "interface not configured" when configured

    ifdown or ifup has never worked for me so I've always used:
    Code:
    ifconfig up
    or
    ifconfig down
    acheieves the same result imho

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Here
    Beans
    11,187

    Re: ifdown says "interface not configured" when configured

    do you got your settings in /etc/network/interfaces ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Kitakyushu Japan
    Beans
    9,362
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: ifdown says "interface not configured" when configured

    Quote Originally Posted by kerry_s View Post
    do you got your settings in /etc/network/interfaces ?
    Yes, I do.

    Code:
    $ cat /etc/network/interfaces 
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    auto eth3
    iface eth3 inet dhcp

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Not heaven... Iowa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: ifdown says "interface not configured" when configured

    Curious broadcast address (probably unrelated, since the interface seems to work).
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Beans
    4

    Re: ifdown says "interface not configured" when configured

    Quote Originally Posted by Iowan View Post
    Curious broadcast address (probably unrelated, since the interface seems to work).
    Why you say that broadcast address is "Curious"?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

    Re: ifdown says "interface not configured" when configured

    Old thread - closed.
    Ubuntu 20.04 Desktop Guide - Ubuntu 22.04 Desktop Guide - Forum Guide to BBCode - Using BBCode code tags

    Member: Not Canonical Team

    If you need help with your forum account, such as SSO login issues, username changes, etc, the correct place to contact an admin is here. Please do not PM me about these matters unless you have been asked to - unsolicited PMs concerning forum accounts will be ignored.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •