Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Microsoft to support IE 6 until 2014

Beans

Microsoft to support IE 6 until 2014

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/8196242.stm

Why can't they let it die? As a webmaster, I have given up supporting IE 6 on my websites now. If I come across a computer with it installed, I may check to see if the site works O.K. and doesn't look too awful, but beyond that, I can't be bothered with it.

Of course, the reason for this is that lots of businesses and government departments are either slow to upgrade, or have web based systems so tied into IE 6 that upgrading would break them.

Probably seems pointless posting a thread here, since I know that 99.9% of people here will just say "M$ sux use firefox", but let's give it a go.

Mind you, this is probably just an excuse for me to have a rant.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: Microsoft to support IE 6 until 2014

Alot of the non-microsoft haters, clueless about what open source means people I know know that IE just s****.
    With no offense here to anyone, I have found in my experience that the only people that do not know that there is anoter option to IE, or that IE is not 'the internet', are liberal arts majors.

That said, why will Microsoft still support it? my guess is that because they are still making money on it. Why else? microsoft is a company and companies want money.
    Dell Latitude E6400 | Intel Core 2 Duo T9400 @ 2.53 GHz | 4GB DDR2 SDRAM @ 800 MHz | 250GB HDD 7200 RPM | NVIDIA Quadro NVS 160M 512 MB
    Use a Dell E-Latitude? | I lost The Game

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

I use firefox for everything, so I am not speaking from much experience but:

Doesn't IE 6 not have tabbing support? When I do fresh installs of XP I'm always driven crazy by no tabs when I try to browse other sites while windows update and the firefox download complete