Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Microsoft Silverlight in Ubuntu?

Beans

Microsoft Silverlight in Ubuntu?

I'm in the process of setting up a computer for my TV (htpc). One of the things I wanted it to be able to do is stream soccer games from www.setanta-i.com. I have a subscription but I can't seem to get it to work on Ubuntu yet. It needs two things in order to be able to stream, microsoft silverlight and another program called autobahn.

Here is where I am at:

Tried to get it to work using Mozilla Firefox. Can't find a silverlight plugin which will work. Did install the moonlight plugin however it doesn't seem to be recognizing it. When you go to the website www.setanta-i.com it tells you whether or not you have the plugin installed, and despite installing moonlight, it is still telling me silverlight is not installed.

Second, tried installing internet explorer through Wine thinking that a microsoft product might have an easier time working with another microsoft product. Did ies4linux and now have IE6 working. Was able to install the autobahn program. Tried to install silverlight through Wine and give me an error "Unable to find a volume for file extraction. Please verify that you have the proper permissions. " What does this mean?

Found some more info on trying to get Silverlight to work through Wine, tried them but none of them seemed to work.

http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManage...estingId=30583

Anyone have any ideas of other stuff I can try???

Thanks.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Microsoft Silverlight in Ubuntu?

Firstly, I suggest you get Firefox for Windows, running on Wine. Firefox should work better than Internet Explorer on Wine.

Silverlight 3 is installable through wine (should detect firefox is installed). In fact, IE doesn't work with Silverlight in Wine. Here's the WineHQ topic but it seems pretty straightforward: FF+Silverlight.

http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManage...sion&iId=17241