Thread: xsane scanner issue

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

xsane scanner issue

This my first time adding a peripheral to my ubuntu jaunty box. I want to add a CanoScan Lide 700F to Xsane and am coming up real short.

I have not added a driver as I assumed it would just work with the Universal USB thing on most new USB devices.

I have never used a scanner on this computer before post or pre ubuntu.

Many thanks,

crabclaw

Found ubuntu supported scanners here

Found detailed scanner info here
    Last edited by crabclaw; August 12th, 2009 at 03:17 PM. Reason: solved

Beans

Re: xsane scanner issue

with the scanner plugged in and turned on, open a terminal and post the output of
    Code:
    lsusb
    Debian Testing(64bit) + XFCE4 AM2 5200+ ATI Radeon HD4350, 4gig RAM,320Gig and 750gig HDs

what's the difference between an answer and a solution? An answer is what they want to hear, a solution is what they don't want to hear

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

:~$ lsusb
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 04a9:1907 Canon, Inc.
    Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0ac8:0321 Z-Star Microelectronics Corp. USB 2.0 Webcam
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    The first one there is the Canon scanner but xsane will always choose the webcam over the scanner. Is there a way the unsupported hardware issue?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Can you try with the Webcam disconnected, just to see if the scanner works at all? If that's OK then we can look at the selection issue (I'm sure there's a way to do this in xsane but I'm not at my Ubuntu PC at present).

Cannon scanners are generally well supported in Linux.

Beans