Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 68

Thread: Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Everywhere
    Beans
    1,529
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

    I found an article regarding the loopback feature of Grub2 where by you could boot from an iso. Does anyone know if it's possible, if so how, to do this with the Ubuntu Live CD?
    "Knowledge is power. Who said that?" - Dave Lister

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    2,900
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

    The article you linked to and the one it links to ( http://michael-prokop.at/blog/2009/0...iso-via-grub2/ ) have pretty clear instructions. What part of the process is not working for you?

    I would start by putting your iso in a known (such as boot) location and altering the line from the example from isofrom=/dev/sda1/grml/grml-small_2008.11.iso to isofrom=/dev/sda1/boot/myjaunty.iso (or whatever you called it).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Everywhere
    Beans
    1,529
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

    Something like this:
    Code:
    menuentry "Ubuntu Jaunty Live CD" {
    loopback loop (hd0,3)/steve/archive/iso/linux/karmic-desktop-amd64.iso
    linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz isofrom=/dev/sda3/steve/archive/iso/linux/karmic-desktop-amd64.iso root=/dev/sda3 boot=casper quiet splash noprompt
    initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
    }
    ...just drops to a busy box.
    "Knowledge is power. Who said that?" - Dave Lister

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    2,900
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

    Quote Originally Posted by phenest View Post
    Something like this:
    Code:
    menuentry "Ubuntu Jaunty Live CD" {
    loopback loop (hd0,3)/steve/archive/iso/linux/karmic-desktop-amd64.iso
    linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz isofrom=/dev/sda3/steve/archive/iso/linux/karmic-desktop-amd64.iso root=/dev/sda3 boot=casper quiet splash noprompt
    initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
    }
    ...just drops to a busy box.
    Did you verify the /casper/initrd.lz path and name on the image you are using? It is /casper/initrg.gz on mine. Also, try it without the root directive. How did you arrive at boot=casper? Did you try live?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Everywhere
    Beans
    1,529
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

    On Karmic, it's initrd.lz, whereas it's initrd.gz on Jaunty. I've tried both Jaunty and Karmic with varying different options with no success.

    boot=casper was taken from the boot options for Ubuntu.
    "Knowledge is power. Who said that?" - Dave Lister

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Everywhere
    Beans
    1,529
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

    The best I get is a BusyBox prompt.
    "Knowledge is power. Who said that?" - Dave Lister

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    2,900
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

    Try the commands one at a time at a grub prompt. You may get some more debugging information. I will mock it up on my end as well. Is the partition with the image a primary one (I assume it is as the first partition in an extended one would be hd0,5 in grub speak)?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Hughenden, Australia
    Beans
    5,100
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

    Code:
    menuentry "Ubuntu Jaunty Live CD" {
    loopback loop (hd0,3)/steve/archive/iso/linux/karmic-desktop-amd64.iso
    linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz isofrom=/dev/sda3/steve/archive/iso/linux/karmic-desktop-amd64.iso root=/dev/sda3 boot=casper quiet splash noprompt
    initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
    }
    Try replacing 'initrd.lz' with 'initrd.gz' and see if that helps.
    Regards, Herman
    Ubuntu user since 2004 (Warty Warthog)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Everywhere
    Beans
    1,529
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

    Quote Originally Posted by Herman View Post
    Code:
    menuentry "Ubuntu Jaunty Live CD" {
    loopback loop (hd0,3)/steve/archive/iso/linux/karmic-desktop-amd64.iso
    linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz isofrom=/dev/sda3/steve/archive/iso/linux/karmic-desktop-amd64.iso root=/dev/sda3 boot=casper quiet splash noprompt
    initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
    }
    Try replacing 'initrd.lz' with 'initrd.gz' and see if that helps.
    Regards, Herman
    POn Karmic alpha 3, it's 'initrd.lz'.
    "Knowledge is power. Who said that?" - Dave Lister

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Beans
    1

    Re: Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

    I suspect none of this will work. To me, it looks like the 'isofrom' option is specific to the grml distro he's using unless it's also a ubuntu option. That is to say, unless there is some specific support in the init script for dealing with an iso, it's not going to happen.

    Normal sequence:
    - boot kernel and initrd
    - mount some stuff like squashfs partitions or whatever from install media
    - run init

    Fancy grub2 sequence:
    - boot kernel and initrd
    - mount install media (using isofrom)
    - loopback mount iso file from install media (using isofrom)
    - NOW do the squashfs mounting, etc.
    - run init

    If you look at the isofrom option, it's giving both a device and a path to the iso so that steps 2 and 3 can happen. If distros are going to support this, it would definitely be handy for everyone to standardize on something like 'isofrom' to be sure.

    cheers,

    Kris

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •