Thread: which linux distibution should I choose for my spec?

Beans

which linux distibution should I choose for my spec?

I am currently running WinXP Pro with most recent updates. It generally runs ok, though some graphics can be a bit slow, e.g. running more than one web page with flash banner ads or occasional games. I have been thinking of setting up a dual boot system for years (maybe even ditch Microsoft eventually), just never got aroung to it!

I have been running a self build for about 8 or 9 years - basic spec is:
    Asus CUV4X-E m'board with PIII 1GHz
    64mb AGP 2x/4x graphics card
    1.5GHz RAM PC133
    some basic cheap soundcard

I now have a new 160GB HDD, which I intended to basically divide into two, reloading WinXP on one partition (I am the household geek open to switching completely, but need MS for other users) and a linux system on the other. My initial thoughts were 100GB for MS, 60GB for linux (based on assumption that windows is generally hungrier). That drive will be primarily OS, programmes and other software. I have other drives that I intend to use for personal files, etc. I have also read that linux sets up a swap partition (a bit like extra RAM???). Does this have any implications for my partitioning?

I have just tried a couple of 'linux chooser' tests and they both suggested SuSE. Next best suggestions were ubuntu, kubuntu, mandriva and linux mint but they were scored lower because it thought they might run a bit slow with my spec. The test questions were fairly basic and I suspect it thinks that because I said my system was 'more than a few years old' and because it asked if I had a 64-bit processor (I didn't know but looked it up and wiki said that PIII is 32-bit).

So three basic questions:
    1. will ubuntu run slow on my system or will it be fine?
    2. (possibly a silly question but...) does anyone recommend an alternative - SuSE or another?
    3. any suggestions about partition sizes?

Look forward to hearing from you