Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Change primary monitor

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Louisiana
    Beans
    22
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Change primary monitor

    I have 2 monitors both 19" widescreen 1440x900, i used nvidia-settings to set up the displays, I am using the seperate x session option, What i want to do is change the monitor that it is using as the primary display to be secondary. I searched the forums and tried messing with xorg.conf a bit but i was unsuccessful. Anyone have any idea how to change the primary display.

    The one i want as my primary is the hp monitor which is currently screen 1
    The one i want as the secondary is the samsung which is currently screen 0

    heres my xorg file.

    Code:
    # nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
    # nvidia-settings:  version 1.0  (buildd@palmer)  Sun Feb  1 20:21:04 UTC 2009
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 1440 0
        Screen      1  "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
        Load           "dbe"
        Load           "extmod"
        Load           "type1"
        Load           "freetype"
        Load           "glx"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerFlags"
        Option         "Xinerama" "0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Mouse0"
        Driver         "mouse"
        Option         "Protocol" "auto"
        Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
        Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
        Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Keyboard0"
        Driver         "kbd"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
        Identifier     "Monitor1"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "HP w1907"
        HorizSync       24.0 - 83.0
        VertRefresh     50.0 - 76.0
        Option         "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "Samsung SyncMaster"
        HorizSync       30.0 - 81.0
        VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
        Option         "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device1"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce4 MX 440 with AGP8X"
        BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
        Screen          1
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce4 MX 440 with AGP8X"
        BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
        Screen          0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen1"
        Device         "Device1"
        Monitor        "Monitor1"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "TwinView" "0"
        Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
        Option         "metamodes" "DFP: 1440x900 +0+0; DFP: 1360x768 +0+0; DFP: 1360x768_60_0 +0+0; DFP: 1152x864 +0+0; DFP: 1152x864_60 +0+0; DFP: 1024x768 +0+0; DFP: 1024x768_60 +0+0; DFP: 800x600 +0+0; DFP: 800x600_60 +0+0; DFP: 640x480 +0+0; DFP: 640x480_60 +0+0"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "TwinView" "0"
        Option         "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sunny Southend-on-Sea
    Beans
    5,424
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Change primary monitor

    The first screen that is listed in the ServerLayout section is the primary screen. So you might change your ServerLayout to something like

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen        "Screen1"
        Screen        "Screen0" RightOf "Screen1"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    EndSection
    If you wanted consistency, you could shuffle the numbers around, but that should be sufficient.
    None but ourselves can free our minds

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Louisiana
    Beans
    22
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Change primary monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by CatKiller View Post
    The first screen that is listed in the ServerLayout section is the primary screen. So you might change your ServerLayout to something like

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen        "Screen1"
        Screen        "Screen0" RightOf "Screen1"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    EndSection
    If you wanted consistency, you could shuffle the numbers around, but that should be sufficient.
    When i do that and restart gdm , the login screen does not show up but it shows these errors:

    "Ubuntu is running in low-graphics mode
    the following error was encountered. You may need to update your configuration to solve this.
    (EE)Failed to load module "type1" (module does not exist, 0)
    (EE)Failed to load module "freetype" (module does not exit, 0)
    (EE)Screen 0 deleted because of no matchin config section.
    (EE)Device(s) detected, but none match those in the config file."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sunny Southend-on-Sea
    Beans
    5,424
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Change primary monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by port View Post
    (EE)Screen 0 deleted because of no matchin config section.
    (EE)Device(s) detected, but none match those in the config file.
    Weird. What happens if you put the screen identifier numbers back in (the numbers between Screen and the Identifier name)?
    None but ourselves can free our minds

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Louisiana
    Beans
    22
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Change primary monitor

    Yea i tried that, i get the same thing.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sunny Southend-on-Sea
    Beans
    5,424
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Change primary monitor

    No typos in there? Nothing useful in /var/log/Xorg.0/log?
    None but ourselves can free our minds

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Beans
    1,184
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Change primary monitor

    OK, go in the back of your PC, and then move the secondary monitor to the primary plug, do the inverse with the secondary. Your all done.

    Cards have a predefined primary monitor port, and I believe short of recompiling the firmnware (not possible) you are not going to magically change it (let me know if you do).

    Switching the ports should give you the desired effect, unless of course you are using a laptop with an external, in which case you are going to have to go into the nvidia settings, and drag the secondary in-front of the primary, and then tell it that you want it to serve as your primary desktop..



    Oh yeah, 500th post!!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •