Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Boot <--> Grub

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Linz, Austria
    Beans
    43

    Question Boot <--> Grub

    Hello everybody,

    I have three systems on my computer.
    1st installed --> WinXP
    2nd installed --> Intrepid Ibex
    3rd installed --> Hardy Heron

    At the moment while booting the grub from 3rd system is on.
    How to setup that grub from 2nd system is on during booting?

    I'm just curious and like to learn something new.

    Ade
    James Dee


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    3,883
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Boot <--> Grub

    Quote Originally Posted by James Dee View Post
    Hello everybody,

    I have three systems on my computer.
    1st installed --> WinXP
    2nd installed --> Intrepid Ibex
    3rd installed --> Hardy Heron

    At the moment while booting the grub from 3rd system is on.
    How to setup that grub from 2nd system is on during booting?

    I'm just curious and like to learn something new.

    Ade
    James Dee

    It depends if You are using grub or grub2 ... I'll assume You are using grub (the "old" one) ... In that case in file /boot/grub/menu.lst change the line "default 0" to "default x" where x+1 is the order of OS in the grub list (the order You see at boot i.e. the order in which they are listed in aforementioned file) You want to use.
    Be careful since if You mess up that file You could be left out of Your computer for a while before You master using LiveCd to regain control ...
    To edit that file You could use
    Code:
    sudo nano /boot/grub/menu.lst
    I'm a bit rusty on using grub so take this with a grain of salt ...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Linz, Austria
    Beans
    43

    Re: Boot <--> Grub

    Quote Originally Posted by zika View Post
    In that case in file /boot/grub/menu.lst change the line "default 0" to "default x" where x+1 is the order of OS in the grub list (the order You see at boot i.e. the order in which they are listed in aforementioned file) You want to use.
    Thnx zika...

    How to remove 3rd system, that grub from 2nd system is called during booting? I think that this will not happened automatically.
    "Smile for the camera sweetheart. I really wanna immortalize the moment."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    3,883
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Boot <--> Grub

    Quote Originally Posted by James Dee View Post
    Thnx zika...

    How to remove 3rd system, that grub from 2nd system is called during booting? I think that this will not happened automatically.
    This question I did not understand fully ...
    (Nisam baš razumeo pitanje ... )

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Boot <--> Grub

    I am not sure what you are asking either, but this thread has some suggestions :

    How to Multi-boot (Maintain more then 2 OS) - Ubuntu Forums
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Linz, Austria
    Beans
    43

    Re: Boot <--> Grub

    Quote Originally Posted by zika View Post
    This question I did not understand fully ...
    (Nisam baš razumeo pitanje ... )
    How to remove 3rd system properly?
    At the moment menu.lst from 3rd system is called during booting. If I want to remove 3rd system (menu.lst will not exist anymore) I need to change that menu.lst from 2nd system is called. How to do that?
    "Smile for the camera sweetheart. I really wanna immortalize the moment."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    3,883
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Boot <--> Grub

    Quote Originally Posted by James Dee View Post
    How to remove 3rd system properly?
    At the moment menu.lst from 3rd system is called during booting. If I want to remove 3rd system (menu.lst will not exist anymore) I need to change that menu.lst from 2nd system is called. How to do that?
    I've never done something like that, so I'll pass on answer even though I have several solid ideas ... but I do not like to speak about something I've only read about. ... Sorry.

  8. #8
    LewRockwell is offline Chocolate Ubuntu Mocha Blend
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Boot <--> Grub

    Super Grub Disk should correct any grub difficulties you have after deleting your 3rd system(http://www.supergrubdisk.org/)

    If you are going to change/alter/edit the grub file "menu.lst" then you should make a back-up copy first
    Code:
    sudo cp /boot/grub/menu.lst /boot/grub/menu.lst.old
    Then you can open an editing session with
    Code:
    gksudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst
    Link: Help Vampires? * * * Please Edit First Post Title With "[SOLVED]" When It Is!
    MANDATORY INFORMATION: make, model/build number, OSes, software, accessories
    /customizations/modifications/peripherals/etc...and a DETAILED account of difficulties!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Boot <--> Grub

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Re...tallingWindows

    Boot Ubuntu.

    Fire up grub :

    Code:
    sudo grub
    At the grub prompt :

    Code:
    grub> root (hd0,x)
    setup (hd0)
    You need to know which partition is the second OS.

    See : HowTo: Partitioning Basics - Ubuntu Forums
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Linz, Austria
    Beans
    43

    Smile Re: Boot <--> Grub

    Quote Originally Posted by bodhi.zazen View Post

    Fire up grub :

    Code:
    sudo grub
    At the grub prompt :

    Code:
    grub> root (hd0,x)
    setup (hd0)
    You need to know which partition is the second OS.
    This is helpful hint.
    Thnx...
    "Smile for the camera sweetheart. I really wanna immortalize the moment."

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •