Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: error with internet stats in game & full screen - running under wine

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    243
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Question error with internet stats in game & full screen - running under wine

    I am starting to think that the wine app database is BS but thats besides the point and does not need to be posted here...

    I found a game that I looked at that was in wines app data base & had a platinum rating..... This game has been anything but platinum....

    First of all I had issues getting it to run under wine that has been fixed..... thanks to help in another thread on here.

    I am still having issues for having a platinum rating this stuff should not be an issue I would not think.

    1. The game will NOT play in an emulated desktop of 800x600 or w/e it is
    even when I have wine config set to emulate 800x600. *** when the game starts it ALWAYS goes into full screen mode period!!! Nothing else no matter what I have done.

    2. there is a screen where you can see your over all ranking against other players via the Internet well you could see it if it worked...

    everytime I try to refresh stats I get an error in game it says can not connect to server or something like that..

    I did take a look at the terminal ouput ... and saw a ref. to http: something and it seems to show an error I wonder if anyone knows how I could fix this??
    err:wininet:HTTP_HttpOpenRequestW Unable to escape string!(L"/scoresPT.php?game=0&name=Dr. Dan&score_id=0&score=888&hours_played=43&techpoint s_earned=848&babies_made=41&food_gathered=16&peopl e_cured=4&crabs_found=58&peak_population=374&death s=29&oldest_villager=76&number_events=22&twins_bir thed=178&triplets_birthed=1&version=10121&digest=c oo006eooecoe6kiec89aw"...) (-2147467261)


    The game is Plant Tycoon BTW -- no wise cracks about the the game please LOL the web site is www.planttycoon.com

    And just an FYI all game functions work under a virtual box I have set up including the Internet rankings But performance is bad under virtual box and I really would rather use wine if I can...
    Please help my Virtual City grow goto http://virtuallines.myminicity.com/ & tell your friends!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    145
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: error with internet stats in game & full screen - running under wine

    Hi hufferd

    I just tested and game runs in emulated Desktop without problems - try something like this:

    Code:
    WINEPREFIX=~/Desktop/Tycoon winecfg
    Replace "/Desktop/Tycoon" with right "path" for your wineprefix.

    As for your other problem I'll see what can I do...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY, USA
    Beans
    426
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: error with internet stats in game & full screen - running under wine

    Make sure that you're using the latest wine (1.1.25).
    Check if it's your username (Dr.Dan - make one without the period and try).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    243
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: error with internet stats in game & full screen - running under wine

    Ok guys thanks I will see what I can do and change a couple things
    Please help my Virtual City grow goto http://virtuallines.myminicity.com/ & tell your friends!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    243
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: error with internet stats in game & full screen - running under wine

    Quote Originally Posted by NightMKoder View Post
    Make sure that you're using the latest wine (1.1.25).
    Check if it's your username (Dr.Dan - make one without the period and try).
    Ah that worked I changed the user name LOL who would have thought about the "." messing things up
    Please help my Virtual City grow goto http://virtuallines.myminicity.com/ & tell your friends!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    243
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: error with internet stats in game & full screen - running under wine

    Quote Originally Posted by ackanao View Post
    Hi hufferd

    I just tested and game runs in emulated Desktop without problems - try something like this:

    Code:
    WINEPREFIX=~/Desktop/Tycoon winecfg
    Replace "/Desktop/Tycoon" with right "path" for your wineprefix.

    As for your other problem I'll see what can I do...
    And thank you again this worked as well --- so any time you make changes it must be with the prefix for each app I assume?
    Please help my Virtual City grow goto http://virtuallines.myminicity.com/ & tell your friends!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    145
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: error with internet stats in game & full screen - running under wine

    Yes - changes you made for one wineprefix have no effect on other wineprefixes you have.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •