Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Realtek ALC272 sound card does not work,help

Beans

Realtek ALC272 sound card does not work,help

I am very new to ubuntu and I just purchased a netbook - Toshiba NB200. Then I installed ubuntu netbook remix version 9.04 after windows xp installed. Everything is working well except the sound card. There seems no visual error in the system but no sound can be heard.

Then I try to compile and install the drivers(include drivers,libs and utils)from realtek web site(http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/...&GetDown=false) and offical alsa web site(http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Main_Page). More options were displayed in the volume control panel but still no sound.
    (I have already disable the mute and push volume to highest in alsamixer and control panel of ubuntu).

However, I can hear the sound from built mic if I plug the earphone in the netbook.

Anyone can solve this problem?
    Last edited by yorkzhang; July 4th, 2009 at 11:53 AM.

Beans

Re: Realtek ALC272 sound card does not work,help

You're not alone. I also have the NB200 and no sound. There is an open bug report on launchpad for the issue. It appears that it's being looked at so I guess it's just a matter of waiting. Seems you've tried everything I've tried, so I have no further suggestions. My temporary work around is to use a USB headset which has its own sound card in it but the sooner the problem is fixed the better. It sort of explains why Toshiba don't offer this very nice netbook with linux where they did with the NB100.

Beans

Just solved this problem partly.(You can hear sound from a plug-in earphone or speaker but not the build-in speaker)
    The post in SUSE forums really helps me a a lot.
    http://forums.opensuse.org/hardware/...d-problem.html

The brief instruction for ALC272 is as below:
    $sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

then add(or edit) this:

options snd-hda-intel model=asus-mode4

Close gedit,then run this in the terminal