Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: User account can't run Root Password for "Update Manager" or in sudo

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

User account can't run Root Password for "Update Manager" or in sudo

I'm wearing a hole in the wall ... & rubbing off my hair ... banging my head against the wall on this one.

Obviously, I'm a newbie w/ Ubuntu ... but I learned on CP/m & DOS 2.1 ... so the Terminal isn't a big problem for me.

But, using good security advice, I am trying NOT to use the Root Acct online. But everytime I get into the User account & run "Update Manager" it prompts me for the admin password ... if I put in the root password, it tells me I've entered the wrong password. If I put in the User password ... same deal.

I KNOW I'm entering the root password correctly ... I can't have entered it wrong 50 times in the User acct but always get it right when I sign onto Root.

I'm having similar problems doing sudo in terminal from the User account.

Obviously, I've overlooked something simple, but I'm not finding the answer in any of the docs or instructions for idjit beginners.

Being an idjit beginner, I'm accumulating a set of instructions to get friends started on Ubuntu ... but if it won't work for me, I won't be able to sell them.

Thanks for help w/ this password problem.

Ed

Beans

Re: User account can't run Root Password for "Update Manager" or in sudo

What do you mean by root password? There shouldn't even be a password set for root.

When you use your use account and use sudo, you enter the user's own login password. If this doesn't work, make sure you're in the admin group. Just type "groups" in a terminal to see what groups your account is part of.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

In jaunty when you do a:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update