Thread: Ubuntu won't start up anymore! DESPERATE.

Hybrid View

Beans

Ubuntu won't start up anymore! DESPERATE.

Hi. i am new to Ubuntu. I've been using Ubuntu 9.04 for about 3 weeks now. And i loved every single moment. Until it just stopped working.

This is what happened:

I installed ubuntu 9.04 to run alongside Windows Vista. "NOTE: MY INSTALL WAS INSIDE VISTA" So then i had a dual boot option when i start my computer. Today, i wanted to backup my Ubuntu, in case anything happened. So i installed "remastersys backup" on Ubuntu. I tired using it, and it didnt work out so well for me. So then i uninstalled it. Right when i did that, i restarted the computer just because. then it just wouldnt load anymore!

Tell me if i'm wrong, but are my files inside "C:\ubuntu\disks" in the "root.disk" file? Well, it they are, i REALLY DESPERATELY HAVE to get a file out! My homework for my english class is in there! And i honestly don't know how to get it out. Is there a way for me to look inside this "root.disk" file, so that i can take it out / copy it?! I read and searched everywhere on the internet. I really need help!

I have a picture of what my boot up screen looks like when i try to load Ubuntu. I tinypiced the picture since it was 2.5 MB. but here the link to picture : *removed by user*

EDIT:

My fix:

Make a copy of the root.disk file and paste it somewhere you'll remember. (If you made you're virtual disk very high in capacity, it'll probably take a while. For me, I gave myself around 15 GB, and whenever i want to download/install/etc stuff, i direct it to the Windows Drive. That is located in "/host". Navigate there, and it should look familiar)
    Then, delete the ubuntu folder.
    Then install, using the CD, inside Vista.