Page 93 of 94 FirstFirst ... 438391929394 LastLast
Results 921 to 930 of 931

Thread: Grub 2 Basics

  1. #921
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Pairadice, USA
    Beans
    4,210
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    Quote Originally Posted by Cavsfan View Post
    In Mint here is what blkid says:

    Code:
    /dev/sda1: UUID="1CFC7A8DFC7A60C6" TYPE="ntfs" 
    /dev/sda2: UUID="deb59f40-8300-4f51-95b2-ab5492a4f2c6" TYPE="swap" 
    /dev/sda3: UUID="a162dc8a-e4df-4b79-b4c3-524761ff7ae1" TYPE="ext4" 
    /dev/sda5: UUID="283ef203-29c7-437f-9992-8ff6dad9f7e1" TYPE="ext4" 
    /dev/sda6: UUID="4a88d030-5de4-4c4d-b5f3-9fb376f8df17" TYPE="swap" 
    /dev/sda7: UUID="f2943974-0a9f-47ec-b5d4-7389c9be2ac0" TYPE="ext4" 
    /dev/sda8: UUID="38870dc0-cd26-47a4-84b1-22c8467fa753" TYPE="ext4" 
    /dev/sdb1: LABEL="Fantom" UUID="78B8D1A1B8D15DE6" TYPE="ntfs"
    I'm 100% certain that sda5 is /boot, sda6 is swap, sda7 is / and sda8 is /home.
    I ended up installing it 3 times and wrote them down.

    But, my main OS (Ubuntu) sees the other one.

    It doesn't see the windows7 partition and sdb1 is my 1TB USB drive.

    Are you saying that this might work: (in red)
    Code:
    menuentry "Linux Mint 13 MATE 64-bit" {
            set root=(hd0,5)
            linux /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda7 ro quiet splash
            initrd /initrd.img
    }
    sda5 is /boot and sda7 is /.
    Quote Originally Posted by drs305 View Post
    Those are the correct addresses for what you describe so I would expect that menuentry to work.

    I tried changing them to the above 5 and 7 in red and it still said you must load kernel first, press any key.

    On thing I've found helpful is to label everything, such as "Mintboot", "Precise", "Mint", etc. It helps, especially with the blkid output, which includes labels.
    Code:
    sudo tune2fs -L "Mintboot" /dev/sda5
    Thanks I did that and saved it.
    I didn't really understand this part:
    But, my main OS (Ubuntu) sees the other one.

    It doesn't see the windows7 partition and sdb1 is my 1TB USB drive.
    What I meant was I don't think either grub sees the same stuff. The one on Ubuntu sees it one way and the one on Mint sees it another.
    The sda3 and sda8 are switched around. I don't know if that matters or not.
    I was wrong by saying it doesn't see windows that is sda1.

    I am on (GNU GRUB 1.98-1ubuntu13) here on Ubuntu. I check which version it is on Mint.
    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.84Ghz. 4.0GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GT

  2. #922
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Pairadice, USA
    Beans
    4,210
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    Mint says
    Code:
    grub-install -v
    unshare failed: Operation not permitted
    grub-install.real (GRUB) 1.99-21ubuntu3
    Not sure what that means before the version.
    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.84Ghz. 4.0GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GT

  3. #923
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    I think what is happening regarding sda3 and sda8 is that each is the 'home' folder for its own installation. If that is the case, what you are seeing is normal.

    If you are running the OS that uses sda3 as /home, it would see sda8 as just another Linux partition and sda3 as its home folder.

    If you are running the other OS, with sda8 as /home, vice versa.

    It doesn't really matter to Grub, which doesn't consider /home in the boot process. It cares about root /, and /boot (or where the boot & grub files are). Other than that, it lets the system figure out where things are. That is one of the reasons some boots fail if the fstab is incorrect - Grub passes control to the kernel but then the system can't figure things out because one of the critical folders is incorrectly listed (or not) in fstab.
    GRUB2

    Retired.

  4. #924
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Pairadice, USA
    Beans
    4,210
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    Quote Originally Posted by drs305 View Post
    I think what is happening regarding sda3 and sda8 is that each is the 'home' folder for its own installation. If that is the case, what you are seeing is normal.

    If you are running the OS that uses sda3 as /home, it would see sda8 as just another Linux partition and sda3 as its home folder.

    If you are running the other OS, with sda8 as /home, vice versa.

    It doesn't really matter to Grub, which doesn't consider /home in the boot process. It cares about root /, and /boot (or where the boot & grub files are). Other than that, it lets the system figure out where things are. That is one of the reasons some boots fail if the fstab is incorrect - Grub passes control to the kernel but then the system can't figure things out because one of the critical folders is incorrectly listed (or not) in fstab.
    I guess the only thing I know to do is hard code the last mint kernel and recovery in my 06_custom file.
    It won't be perfectly maintenance free but, pretty close. Just a minor change if a kernel comes down the pipe.
    I am not sure how long I will deal with LMDE 13 Mate anyway.
    If you come up with anything else let me know.
    Thanks for your time!
    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.84Ghz. 4.0GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GT

  5. #925
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    103

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    i make a rescue grub usb this way .
    sudo grub-mkrescue --output=rescue.iso
    sudo dd if=~/rescue.iso of=/dev/sdb

    my grub.cfg is:

    menuentry 'Debian GNU/Linux, with Linux 2.6.32-5-686' --class debian --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(/dev/sda,msdos5)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 069ca903-d3d9-43ef-8e1e-02a27109fce3
    echo 'Loading Linux 2.6.32-5-686 ...'
    linux /vmlinuz-2.6.32-5-686 root=UUID=a28fd0a3-5391-4ac5-8206-3c97e53dc605 ro quiet
    echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
    initrd /initrd.img-2.6.32-5-686
    }


    menuentry "Microsoft Windows XP Professional" {
    set root=(hd0,msdos1)
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set f888-ccdb
    drivemap -s (hd0) $root
    chainloader +1
    }

    now , i reinstall my xp,then i can't use my debian .
    i reboot with my usb,when i get grub>
    1.boot xp
    input ls ,the hd0 turn into hd1,my usb is hd0,
    so i input
    grub>set root=(hd0,msdos1)
    grub>search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set f888-ccdb
    grub>drivemap -s (hd0) $root
    grub>chainloader +1
    grub>boot

    it's ok! i can boot xp.

    2.boot debian
    i input:
    grub>insmod part_msdos
    grub>insmod ext2
    grub>set root='(hd1,msdos5)'
    grub>linux /vmlinuz-2.6.32-5-686 root=UUID=a28fd0a3-5391-4ac5-8206-3c97e53dc605 ro quiet
    grub>initrd /initrd.img-2.6.32-5-686
    grub>boot

    i can't boot debian,what's wrong in my grub command?

  6. #926
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    Quote Originally Posted by luofeiyu View Post

    2.boot debian
    i input:
    grub>insmod part_msdos
    grub>insmod ext2
    grub>set root='(hd1,msdos5)'
    grub>linux /vmlinuz-2.6.32-5-686 root=UUID=a28fd0a3-5391-4ac5-8206-3c97e53dc605 ro quiet
    grub>initrd /initrd.img-2.6.32-5-686
    grub>boot

    i can't boot debian,what's wrong in my grub command?
    I can only compare your menuentry with what we normally see. In Ubuntu the normal setup, unless you have a separate 'boot' partition, has a symlink (/vmlinuz) in / and the actual kernel in /boot (/boot/vmlinuz-3-0.....).

    In your example, you are specifying the actual kernel and initrd image as residing in / rather than /boot. So in the above example it would normally be: grub>linux /vmlinuz ... or grub>linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6...

    If this isn't the problem I'd recommend installing and running the Boot Repair app from a LiveCD.
    GRUB2

    Retired.

  7. #927
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    103

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    i have separate '/boot' partition and '/' partition.

    it's so strange for my system ,i can boot it with my rescue cd,but i can't boot it with my rescue usb,the same grub command
    grub>insmod part_msdos
    grub>insmod ext2
    grub>set root='(hd1,msdos5)'
    grub>linux /vmlinuz-2.6.32-5-686 \root=UUID=a28fd0a3-5391-4ac5-8206-3c97e53dc605 ro quiet
    grub>initrd /initrd.img-2.6.32-5-686
    grub>boot

    to boot in from my rescue usb ,what i get is :
    /bin/sh :can't access tty ;job control turned off

  8. #928
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    103

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    grub>insmod part_msdos
    grub>insmod ext2
    grub>set root='(hd1,msdos5)'
    grub>linux /vmlinuz-2.6.32-5-686 \root=UUID=a28fd0a3-5391-4ac5-8206-3c97e53dc605 rootdelay=60 ro quiet
    grub>initrd /initrd.img-2.6.32-5-686
    grub>boot

    when i add rootdelay=60,it works fine.

  9. #929
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    103

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    i still have a problem ,if i want to install ppp-udeb ,how to write my command?
    linux /vmlinuz-2.6.32-5-686 append install modules=ppp.udeb
    ??

  10. #930
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub 2 Basics

    Quote Originally Posted by luofeiyu View Post
    i still have a problem ,if i want to install ppp-udeb ,how to write my command?
    linux /vmlinuz-2.6.32-5-686 append install modules=ppp.udeb
    ??
    I'm not familiar enough with this to advise you. I recommend you start a thread of your own and you will probably get a quicker answer than having your question 'buried' in this thread.
    GRUB2

    Retired.

Page 93 of 94 FirstFirst ... 438391929394 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •