Thread: No sound on HP Pavilion dv6-1030us running 9.04

Beans

No sound on HP Pavilion dv6-1030us running 9.04

Hello,

I'm a complete Linux noob. I've gotten everything on my laptop (HP Pavilion dv6-1030us) working so far aside from the sound.

I've consulted the Ubuntu documentation Sound Troubleshooting page and here's what I've found out:

• I checked Volume Control and the volume is turned up and the speaker isn't muted
    • The system appears to recognize my sound card. aplay -l outputs this information:
      Code:
      **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
      card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: STAC92xx Analog [STAC92xx Analog]
        Subdevices: 1/1
        Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
      card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: STAC92xx Digital [STAC92xx Digital]
        Subdevices: 1/1
        Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    • My sound modules appear to be installed. find /lib/modules/`uname -r` | grep snd outputs a long list of .ko files in the /lib/modules/2.6.28-13-generic/kernel/sound/ directory.
    • My sound card appears to be physically installed and recognized by my hardware. lspci -v | less lists this "Audio device:"
      Code:
      00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
              Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 3627
              Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 22
              Memory at da500000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
              Capabilities: <access denied>
              Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
              Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel
    • Here's the ALSA project's reference page for my sound setup and (I believe) the corresponding git repository page for my driver version, 1.0.18rc3. (I'm not sure why the driver version is a release candidate rather than plain old 1.0.18, the same as in the documentation. I downloaded my Ubuntu release from the official website yesterday.)