Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: resolv.conf keeps overwriting

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    275

    Re: resolv.conf keeps overwriting

    Yeah, so...I finally got chattr to work, but my resolv.conf still changed back.

    Any other suggestions?

    Thanks!

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    275

    Re: resolv.conf keeps overwriting

    bump

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Beans
    11

    Re: resolv.conf keeps overwriting

    Bump!

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Beans
    11

    Re: resolv.conf keeps overwriting

    This problem can be now fixed by removing the resolvconf package, using this command:

    sudo apt-get remove resolvconf


    Then add your nameservers to resolv.conf file, save it, then reboot your system.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    9

    Re: resolv.conf keeps overwriting

    Wait. Doesn't our systems need the resolvconf package? Don't applications and scripts use this?

    Or am I missing something?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Not heaven... Iowa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: resolv.conf keeps overwriting

    From what I've read/seen - resolvconf is responsible for updating resolv.conf. I've seen problems fixed by adding it - and others by removing it. If memory still works, mkormendy fixed a problem recently by removing it.
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad] [Sub-forum]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Beans
    63
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: resolv.conf keeps overwriting

    I only way I've ever solved this is to remove network-manager (which IMO is one of the worst things ever released) and configure your network manually.

    To be fair - network manager seems to work OK on my laptop where I use wireless most of the time, but on a desktop with hardwired network and multiple NIC's it's way more trouble than it's worth. In fact, I've never gotten it to work correctly and it doesn't configure port aggregation at all.

    The file to edit is "/etc/network/interfaces"

    something like...

    # This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
    # and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

    # The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    # The primary network interface
    auto eth0
    #iface eth0 inet dhcp
    iface eth0 inet static
    address 192.168.1.100
    gateway 192.168.1.1
    nameserver 192.168.1.1
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    mtu 7692
    Last edited by oshunluvr; February 20th, 2010 at 02:36 AM.
    Kubuntu 13.04- ASUS Formula Extreme SE, Q6600 quad core o/c'd to 3.0ghz, 4x2048 Corsair dual-DDR2 DHX, Samsung 840 PRO 256gb, WD "RED" 2TB, LG lightscribe dvdrw, 2xXFX 8800gt Alpha Dog XXX, Dual Dell 1905 monitors, Water cooled by Swiftech Apogee.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •