Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: no flac option in soundkonverter

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Cologne
    Beans
    49
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    no flac option in soundkonverter

    I am using soundconverter for ripping my CD collection on two different PCs (both Hardy). No problems on one but the other one does not offer the option "flac" when I want to convert lossless, only wav and wv. Looking in the list of plugins FLAC v. 301 is listed as "should be shipped with my distribution".

    Any idea?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: no flac option in soundkonverter

    I'm not really sure what could be causing this problem. Have you tried reinstalling the program?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    14,113

    Re: no flac option in soundkonverter

    Install flac (soundkonverter uses flac, not libflac, faac, not libfaac, ect.

    To ck. open sk's setting and look in Environment (note sk. usually needs to be restarted after you install something or make setting's changes

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Cologne
    Beans
    49
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Smile Re: no flac option in soundkonverter

    Thx. Installing flac solved it. I had in mind that flac would be in the standard distro.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    14,113

    Re: no flac option in soundkonverter

    while with flac it won't matter if ever using other formats also ck. in the 'backends' to see if there is a 'better' encoder, decoder, ripper available (green vs yellow or red

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Cologne
    Beans
    49
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: no flac option in soundkonverter

    Celebrated too early. Now I can select flac, sk recognizes CD but won't rip. Remains in state "waiting" forever.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    14,113

    Re: no flac option in soundkonverter

    Never used sk for ripping but this is what seems to happen (in gnome)

    I only have cdparanoia installed so that's what must be set in backends and it does work.

    What happens though is when you open the settings -> configure soundkonverter for anything, it then reverts the ripper back to kio_audiocd even if you don't open backends.

    So every time you open settings you'd need to reset the ripper back to cdparanoia before exiting.

    If you open ~/.kde/share/config/soundkonverterrc you can see what's set and how it changes when opening the settings menu (for anything

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Cologne
    Beans
    49
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: no flac option in soundkonverter

    Thank you for the hint.
    Works fine again.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    14,113

    Re: no flac option in soundkonverter

    I also noticed that the other possible ripper - cdda2wav, isn't to be found.
    Turns out it's included now in the icedax package.

    cdparanoia works fine here, just thought I'd mention

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •