Thread: PowerPC Compatibility

Beans

PowerPC Compatibility

Hello! New to the Ubuntu forums, in fact I'm new to Ubuntu full stop and have a question regarding compatibility on a Powerbook G4.

I am guessing that my question might have already been answered somewhere in the depths of these forums, but I can't find an exact answer, hence this post.

I have a G4 with a 1.67 Ghz cpu and dual layer superdrive and high res screen. It is one of, if not THE very last version of the G4 PPC to be released.

I have installed Ubuntu 9.04 relavitely successfully so far (strange screen sync problems during install, but usable enough to get through), but I am unable to get the wireless and screen graphics working properly.

Are there major comptibility issues that mean I should look at an older version? Or is there a set of patches/upgrades aimed specifically for that release of the G4?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Cheers

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Re: PowerPC Compatibility

Well,

First off welcome eventdecay

What version of Ubuntu are you trying get to function properly?

Beans

Hey kzersatz, thanks!

I have installed Ubuntu 9.04 'Jaunty Jackalope'.

I have managed to get wireless working now using b43-fwcutter, but still have some minor issues with hibernation/sleep mode not waking up properly and video issues during boot. Also the boot time is a little longer than expected (i.e. slower than OSX).

I am hoping I can get everything working well enough to not need to switch back to OSX.

Any help/pointers to appropriate drivers and software will be much appreciated.

Cheers!

Beans
    Hidden!

i use pbbuttonsd, eject, cpudynd and my own recompiled kernel.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

This link has some good general powerpc issue info:

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/PowerPCFAQ

Beans

Thanks Barba. I downloaded pbbuttonsd buy 9.04 already had a new version installed and my eject button works ok so I skipped downloading 'eject'.