Page 1 of 21 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Installing Microsoft Office 2007 in Ubuntu 8.04/8.10/9.04 using Wine 1.1.12 to 16

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Installing Microsoft Office 2007 in Ubuntu 8.04/8.10/9.04 using Wine 1.1.12 to 16

UPDATED POST: (August 18, 2009)

Since the day of the release of Wine version 1.1.24 the regression issue was resolved and probably future versions (1.1.24+) will do the same.

The guide is just a summary of all the online guides that I have tried and to be honest many of those guides gave me so many headaches for the simple reason, "I'm a newbie to UBUNTU". So I've decided to join in this forum last May 2009 and made a simple guide that's especially made for newbies like me.

Thanks to all the online guides that helped me formulate this simple guide all the credits must be given to all of you..

HERE ARE THE STEPS:

A. WINE CHECK/VERSION CHECK
    -to check if you have installed wine already or check the version of your wine

1. Click Application>Accessories>Terminal
    2. On the Terminal window type ‘wine --version’
    Note:
    1. If you have not installed wine yet you will receive this message The program 'wine' is currently not installed. You can install it by typing: sudo apt-get install wine bash: wine: command not found then you may proceed to STEP D.
    2. If your wine version is 1.1.12 to 1.1.16 or 1.1.24+ then you may proceed to STEP C

B. UNINSTALL WINE
    -If the version of your wine is 1.1.11 below, 1.1.17 to 1.1.23 you will not be able to install MSOffice 2007 due to regression so you have to uninstall this by following the steps:

1. Click System>Administration>Synaptic Package Manager
    2. On the Synaptic Package Manager window type ‘Wine” on Search scroll down look for Wine right click on it and click Mark for Complete Removal>Apply>Reload>Close “OR”
    3. Type
      Code:
      sudo apt-get remove wine