Thread: Ubuntu not ready yet! rediculous 945gm graphics preformance

Beans
    Distro
    Edgy Eft Testing

Ubuntu not ready yet! rediculous 945gm graphics preformance

Why?? Aren't these intel chipset's on a large number of laptops these days? I'm not new to ubuntu, but why ship such horrible preformance on a release version of ubuntu? If somebody were to try ubuntu for the first time, they would be very disappointed. I'm no noob, I've been using ubuntu since 2005, look at my profile. What is going on here. Mark Shuttleworth are you ashamed? A release should be made as stable as it can. Having poor performance on a major release is a terrible idea. Can you hear me mark?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

Re: Ubuntu not ready yet! rediculous 945gm graphics preformance

My Intel video works just fine and always has. It has had the least trouble of all my 5 computers.

Beans

I think the problem is with the linux kernel. I heard that fedora is also facing same problem with intel graphics cards and it is one of the reasons why its release is getting delayed.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

You have not read the releaso notes, have you?

Other known issues
    Performance regressions on Intel graphics cards

Users of Intel video chipsets have reported performance regressions in Ubuntu 8.10 compared with previous releases (252094). Many of the issues have been resolved in Ubuntu 9.04, but some remain.

Some users have found improved performance by using the "greedy" migration heuristic. This can be done by running "sudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf", and adding Option "MigrationHeuristic" "greedy" to the Device section of your xorg.conf.