Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tether Blackberry with 9.04

Beans

Tether Blackberry with 9.04

I'm running a Dell Vostro A90 (Mini 9) with Ubuntu 9.04 and I have a Blackberry 8820 on T-Mobile (US).

The reason I'm posting this because I'm a beginner and I had a slightly difficult time finding this solution, even though it was right in front of me. I'm hoping that I'll be able to help other beginners use their Blackberry as a modem (tether) and I also have a few unresolved questions which are included in teh below instructions.

All of the instructions and answers can be found here:
    The first thing I needed to do was open a terminal window and run:
    sudo apt-get install python libusb-dev ppp python-usb
    That command installs the python, pppd, libusb and the python usb(pyusb) modules, which are needed to run the bbtether program.

Then I needed to run:
    sudo apt-get install python-wxgtk2.8
    That command installed the graphical version of python, which I believe is only needed if you want to run the graphical version of bbtether.

Next I needed to download the bbtether package:
    http://www.colar.net/websvn/filedeta...2Fbbtether.tgz
    Put the file in a folder and then extract the files from the archive. I used the file browser and then right clicked on the file and chose the "Extract Here" option. I'm a newbie so I'm not sure where the best place to put these files are. I put mine in my user's home directory. Are there any suggestions on a better place to put the files? If I put them in my personal directory then am I keeping other users from being able to access them?

Now that everything is installed, it's time to run the program. Since I don't know if my PPPD supports "replacedefaultroute", I followed the steps to disable my other network interfaces (eg. wifi)
    Open a terminal window and run:
    route
    Look at the output and it will list the interfaces. Mine was "eth1"

Next, bring down that interface:
    sudo ifconfig eth1 down