Page 73 of 100 FirstFirst ... 2363717273747583 ... LastLast
Results 721 to 730 of 991

Thread: Acer Timeline 3810T

  1. #721
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New Orleans
    Beans
    189

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    I'm trying to draw more attention to the brightness bug on launchpad as it also affects most timeline models and I suspect a few of the other Aspire series as well.

    there is a bug report at https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...el/+bug/446717

    I have marked as duplicates all of the bugs related to the changes in how the brightness keys have failed over time that I am aware of.

    if anyone with either a 3810(TZ/TG) or 4810(TZ/TG) or 5810TG could post exact details of how this bug affects there computer under lucid it would be appreciated.
    Last edited by executorvs; March 11th, 2010 at 07:23 PM.

  2. #722
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    I'm lost ... HELP!
    Beans
    1,014
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    Code:
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...el/+bug/446717
    is not the whole url

    here it is
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...el/+bug/446717
    Last edited by miegiel; March 11th, 2010 at 07:22 PM.

  3. #723
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New Orleans
    Beans
    189

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    oops.

  4. #724
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    1

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    I did search a bit but can not find any mention of the problem I am having.

    I have a Acer Timeline 3810TZ

    I just switched from Win7 to ubuntu and all went well except for the intermittent wifi issues.

    On reboot it will work fine, find my router, connect and allow for firefox to work just fine. If I just surf the webs for a little while its fine, but after a while it will drop the connection followed by not seeing the wireless card any longer.

    It drops even faster if say I run the update manager it wont even get though half the download process.

    Wireless router is located in same room that I am trying to get on line. When a hardline is run to the computer it work perfectly with no problems.

    Really don't want to go back to Win7, but will have to if I cant figure out why the wifi is flaky.

    Oh yea, on reboot it works fine, if I put it to sleep and wake it up....it works just fine again.

    Thanks for any tips, tricks or ideas to fix this problem.

  5. #725
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    1,354

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    My personal experience has been that disabling N connections at the router level solved my connectivity issues. G connections work great in my experience. I am not sure if there is a better driver in the backports repo, but for internet connections, G speeds are fine and disabling N is far easier (in my opinion) than messing around with finding better drivers.

    Quote Originally Posted by chucktastic View Post
    I did search a bit but can not find any mention of the problem I am having.

    I have a Acer Timeline 3810TZ

    I just switched from Win7 to ubuntu and all went well except for the intermittent wifi issues.

    On reboot it will work fine, find my router, connect and allow for firefox to work just fine. If I just surf the webs for a little while its fine, but after a while it will drop the connection followed by not seeing the wireless card any longer.

    It drops even faster if say I run the update manager it wont even get though half the download process.

    Wireless router is located in same room that I am trying to get on line. When a hardline is run to the computer it work perfectly with no problems.

    Really don't want to go back to Win7, but will have to if I cant figure out why the wifi is flaky.

    Oh yea, on reboot it works fine, if I put it to sleep and wake it up....it works just fine again.

    Thanks for any tips, tricks or ideas to fix this problem.
    Forum Do's and Don'ts -- Please familiarize yourself with these!!
    Do not give login-as-root instructions. Here is the policy
    This Ubuntu better not be dacaf!

  6. #726
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New Orleans
    Beans
    189

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    I had a similar problem in 9.10, especially with WDS networks on campus. This problem is not an issue for me in lucid. I would say you should see if the beta live disc runs on your computer without too much issue and if things go well upgrade now.

  7. #727
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    23
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    please, can someone confirm that internal mic on 3810T is working after alsa update (1.0.21a or backports-modules-alsa)?

    on older alsa, i was able to get external mic working without any efforts.
    but after alsa update i cannot unmute mic or choose internal/external mic, because there is no such control in alsa mixer or any other mixer i've tried.

  8. #728
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    23
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    just updated bios to 1.20. on first look, nothing has changed.

    but, when i modprobe kvm and kvm_intel, and launch kvm - everything is working and i do not receive any complains about VT support:


    Code:
    # cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep -o vmx
    vmx
    # modprobe kvm kvm_intel
    <nothing here>
    # dmesg | grep kvm
    <nothing here>
    # kvm -monitor stdio                                                                                                                                            QEMU 0.12.50 monitor - type 'help' for more information
    (qemu) info kvm
    kvm support: enabled
    (qemu)

    it's look like in bios 1.20, acer silently enabled virtualization

  9. #729
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    23
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    just updated bios to 1.20. on first look, nothing has changed.

    but, when i modprobe kvm and kvm_intel, and launch kvm - everything is working and i do not receive any complains about VT support:


    Code:
    # cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep -o vmx
    vmx
    # modprobe kvm kvm_intel
    <nothing here>
    # dmesg | grep kvm
    <nothing here>
    # kvm -monitor stdio                                                                                                                                            QEMU 0.12.50 monitor - type 'help' for more information
    (qemu) info kvm
    kvm support: enabled
    (qemu)

    it's look like in bios 1.20, acer silently enabled virtualization

  10. #730
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    21

    Talking Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    See https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...20/comments/94 for possible fix for suspend issue.

Page 73 of 100 FirstFirst ... 2363717273747583 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •