Page 4 of 100 FirstFirst ... 234561454 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 991

Thread: Acer Timeline 3810T

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    6

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    Hi guys,

    I have acer timeline 5810T, 2 thinks are not working to me

    -> changing brightness in gnome (can be workaround-ed by changing using xrandr to native mode)

    It is even mentioned in logs :
    un 12 20:58:14 david kernel: [ 27.320635] acer-wmi: Acer Laptop ACPI-WMI Extras
    Jun 12 20:58:14 david kernel: [ 27.378719] acer-wmi: Brightness must be controlled by generic video driver
    Jun 12 20:58:14 david kernel: [ 27.378856] acer-wmi: software RFKILL enabled
    It must be bug of gnome-power-settings


    -> shut down / or reboot. I have AHCI enabled in bios
    The strange is that I could not found something relevant in logs.
    During restart / reboot it hangs on blicking pointer . When pressed ctrl+alt+del I will recieve an info about shuttind down all md0 raids or something related and it finally restarts.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    38

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    hi just do this: it works and system is quick as usual

    "Further, you can workaround the issue by adding "libata.noacpi=1" to your kernel boot command line"

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    Just got the 3810T, thanks for all the informative posts in this thread - definitely helped with the decision.

    Is there any way to get the suspend/resume working? Does it make a difference to ACPI whether im running in ahci or ide mode?

    Thanks

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    I'm lost ... HELP!
    Beans
    1,014
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    Quote Originally Posted by realitygaps View Post
    Just got the 3810T, thanks for all the informative posts in this thread - definitely helped with the decision.

    Is there any way to get the suspend/resume working? Does it make a difference to ACPI whether im running in ahci or ide mode?

    Thanks
    ACPI and AHCI are 2 different things.

    Wikipedia is your friend
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ACPI
    Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI) specification is an open standard for unified operating system-centric device configuration and power management.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AHCI
    Advanced Host Controller Interface (AHCI) is a programming-specification which defines the operation of Serial ATA host-controllers

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    Thanks for the tips, although I did actually realise that difference. Just thought perhaps the settings might affect something in ACPI.

    Any idea how to get suspend/resume working?

    Thanks

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    6

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    Quote Originally Posted by realitygaps View Post
    Thanks for the tips, although I did actually realise that difference. Just thought perhaps the settings might affect something in ACPI.

    Any idea how to get suspend/resume working?

    Thanks
    Hi, It works for me. You may want to go to acer website and update to latest BIOS for your Acer Timeline.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    19

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    nope, cannot confirm that. resuming after suspend does not work, even with the 1.04 bios from the acer website.
    Last edited by tokyoahead; June 16th, 2009 at 10:38 PM.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    I have the same experience as tokyohead, upgraded the bios and resuming from suspend still powers off... any ideas?

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    6

    Wink Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    Quote Originally Posted by realitygaps View Post
    I have the same experience as tokyohead, upgraded the bios and resuming from suspend still powers off... any ideas?
    Hi , i have workarounded a lot of issues (mainly problem with brightness and reset/power-off) by installing a 2.6.30 kernel to my jaunty.

    1. Download & install the 2.6.30 kernel according to your architecture:

    i386 users:
    Code:
    Code:
    $ wget -c http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa/mainline/v2.6.30/linux-headers-2.6.30-020630-generic_2.6.30-020630_i386.deb http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa/mainline/v2.6.30/linux-headers-2.6.30-020630_2.6.30-020630_all.deb http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa/mainline/v2.6.30/linux-image-2.6.30-020630-generic_2.6.30-020630_i386.deb
    $ sudo dpkg -i linux-headers-2.6.30-020630-generic_2.6.30-020630_i386.deb linux-headers-2.6.30-020630_2.6.30-020630_all.deb linux-image-2.6.30-020630-generic_2.6.30-020630_i386.deb
    amd64 users:
    Code:
    Code:
    $ wget -c http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa/mainline/v2.6.30/linux-headers-2.6.30-020630-generic_2.6.30-020630_amd64.deb http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa/mainline/v2.6.30/linux-headers-2.6.30-020630_2.6.30-020630_all.deb http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa/mainline/v2.6.30/linux-image-2.6.30-020630-generic_2.6.30-020630_amd64.deb
    $ sudo dpkg -i linux-headers-2.6.30-020630-generic_2.6.30-020630_amd64.deb linux-headers-2.6.30-020630_2.6.30-020630_all.deb linux-image-2.6.30-020630-generic_2.6.30-020630_amd64.deb
    Restart and boot to new kernel.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    modena, italy
    Beans
    17
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    hey..
    the 2.6.30 kernel you've installed checks the right amount of RAM you have??
    the 2.6.28 kernel does not recognize the right size: 2.9 GB instead of 3.9!
    other question: resume after suspend work after upgraded kernel??

    thanks very much!!

Page 4 of 100 FirstFirst ... 234561454 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •