Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 32

Thread: HOW TO: Get Line6 Guitar Port to work!

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Danville, In. USA
    Beans
    59
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Smile Re: HOW TO: Get Line6 Guitar Port to work!

    After using my Guitar Port for some time now here's the settings that work for me. I don't have any problems with these settings!

    Go to System> Preferences> Sound Preferences and make sure everything is on the Line6 (OSS) and on Default Mixer Select the ALSA version. This Config seems to work for me. Make sure your "Monitor Track" is muted due to some feedback when using Jack.

    When recording with Jack only use "Capture_1" for your recordings. "Capture_2" is used by the Line6 software as the "DI" for the tuner and for some reason it has alot of noise.

    As for the ALSA support I'm clueless! It works under ALSA in Jack, so I don't know about that!

    My only problem is to find a nice amp emulator program for Linux.

    Forge
    (Laptop) Toshiba Satellite A215-S7422 AMD Turion 64 x2 1.90GHz, 4 GB RAM ATI X1200 (Desktop) Intel Core 2 Duo 1.89GHz, 2 GB RAM Nvidia GT220

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Danville, In. USA
    Beans
    59
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: HOW TO: Get Line6 Guitar Port to work!

    hey trying this on 8.04 with 2.6.24-16 headers (it failed miserably)

    update to 9.04 its so much better then 8.o4
    I could only get this to work with 2.6.24.17
    (Laptop) Toshiba Satellite A215-S7422 AMD Turion 64 x2 1.90GHz, 4 GB RAM ATI X1200 (Desktop) Intel Core 2 Duo 1.89GHz, 2 GB RAM Nvidia GT220

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Danville, In. USA
    Beans
    59
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: HOW TO: Get Line6 Guitar Port to work!

    Hi,

    I am trying to get my Guitarport to work. when i set it as the output device in system>preferences>sound and then click test i get this error:-

    audiotestsrc wave=sine freq=512 ! audioconvert ! audioresample ! gconfaudiosink profile=chat: Could not open audio device for playback.

    can anyone help with this?

    Thanks,
    Alex
    Just use the OSS Version and it should work
    (Laptop) Toshiba Satellite A215-S7422 AMD Turion 64 x2 1.90GHz, 4 GB RAM ATI X1200 (Desktop) Intel Core 2 Duo 1.89GHz, 2 GB RAM Nvidia GT220

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    193

    Re: HOW TO: Get Line6 Guitar Port to work!

    ive tried oss and alsa and i get the same error message with both.

    any other ideas?

    does it matter that i had the guitarport pluged in when doing the installation?

    thanks,
    alex

    edit:-

    the oss error ends- internal data flow error

    instead of saying could not open audio device for playback
    Last edited by darkeale; September 26th, 2009 at 10:29 PM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Beans
    11
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: HOW TO: Get Line6 Guitar Port to work!

    I am trying to use my UX1 under 9.10

    I can get the subversion, compile it propoerly, install it flawlessly but it does not get detected after the boot.

    I believe its completely different than before, but I have no clue on how to make it work for me.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    17
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: HOW TO: Get Line6 Guitar Port to work!

    Quote Originally Posted by tbluejeans View Post
    I get the same error message. Installation was no problem. Does anybody know what might be wrong?
    i have the same problem. aside from that i keep getting this weird hissing sound coming from my speakers when the TonePort is connected...kinda like how heavy wind sounds during a snowstorm.

    any help on this would be awesome
    AMD Athlon X64 1.90GHz
    2GB RAM
    nVidia GeForce 7000M

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    1

    Question Re: HOW TO: Get Line6 Guitar Port to work!

    I am also tearing my hair out with this same problem!

    I've tried on two different machines, one running 9.04 (an IBM Thinkpad) and the other 9.10 (a Mac G4 Powerbook), but no joy. Kernel on 9.04 is 2.6.28-17-generic.

    My Line 6 Toneport UX1 appears as both ALSA and OSS devices in Sound Preferences, but using ALSA I can't record using Audacity or Ardour (via Jack) - it's just silence. When I click 'Test' with ALSA Playback selected, I get a load of feedback through the headphones plugged into the Toneport.

    If I choose OSS in Sound Preferences and click 'Test', I get the error:

    "audiotestsrc wave=sine freq=512 ! audioconvert ! audioresample ! gconfaudiosink profile=music: Internal data flow error."
    Audio recording programs don't work in OSS mode either.

    Can anybody please advise me what I should be doing in Jack/Ardour/anywhere else to get this working properly? It's driving me nuts.

    I would be so, so grateful as I'm hoping to do some recording via Linux over Christmas.

    Cheers,
    Dionisio1983

    PS. The output from arecord -l is:

    card 0: UX1 [TonePort UX1], device 0: TonePort UX1 [TonePort UX1]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: I82801DBICH4 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4], device 0: Intel ICH [Intel 82801DB-ICH4]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: I82801DBICH4 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4], device 1: Intel ICH - MIC ADC [Intel 82801DB-ICH4 - MIC ADC]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: I82801DBICH4 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4], device 2: Intel ICH - MIC2 ADC [Intel 82801DB-ICH4 - MIC2 ADC]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: I82801DBICH4 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4], device 3: Intel ICH - ADC2 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4 - ADC2]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    And aplay -l gives.

    card 0: UX1 [TonePort UX1], device 0: TonePort UX1 [TonePort UX1]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: I82801DBICH4 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4], device 0: Intel ICH [Intel 82801DB-ICH4]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: I82801DBICH4 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4], device 1: Intel ICH - MIC ADC [Intel 82801DB-ICH4 - MIC ADC]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: I82801DBICH4 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4], device 2: Intel ICH - MIC2 ADC [Intel 82801DB-ICH4 - MIC2 ADC]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: I82801DBICH4 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4], device 3: Intel ICH - ADC2 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4 - ADC2]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    123

    Re: HOW TO: Get Line6 Guitar Port to work!

    Hi sorry for the bump, but I've gotten this working on my Line 6 UX1 and Ubuntu 10.04 using the guide provided by the OP. (thanks, by the way) however, I get some popping in playback of sounds. How can I get rid of this popping?

    Thanks.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    123

    Re: HOW TO: Get Line6 Guitar Port to work!

    No-one?
    This signature requires Flash Player 10 or higher to display. You appear to have an out of date version or it is not installed.

    (lol)

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    123

    Re: HOW TO: Get Line6 Guitar Port to work!

    Bump, really would like to get this working good and proper.
    This signature requires Flash Player 10 or higher to display. You appear to have an out of date version or it is not installed.

    (lol)

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •