Thread: Canoscan LiDE 200

Hybrid View

Beans

Angry Canoscan LiDE 200

Absolute beginner barely covers what I am to Ubuntu. My ex boyfriend got me set up and I have never done so much as install a program myself, I fail really hard at understanding Linux, but it is something I support so I want to try!

Like an idiot I bought a scanner because I was brainwashed by the ex that Linux supports everything, but apparently everything doesn't include my new CanoScan LiDE 200 scanner!

I tried plugging it in and nothing happened. XSane doesn't support it, WINE didn't seem to like the disc that came with the scanner and as I don't speak Linux the internet is remarkably unhelpful.

So any help would be greatly appreciated! I want my faith in Linux restored, I hate windows but I think I am too stupid for this Linux stuff!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Canoscan LiDE 200

first of all, don't hesitate to ask questions around the forums whenever need help or feel overwhelmed, learning a new operating system takes a bit of time.

now the bad news, I have a canoscan myself, and sadly enough like your model, the 200, it is not supported by linux. So long story short, it will not work. I dual boot with windows XP so its not a deal breaker for me.

sorry to be the one to tell ya the bad news, the bad thing here is that linux is not really to blame for this. Some manufacturers simply won't bother releasing drivers for linux.

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

I wrote to Canon (copied below), and this is the response I got. I encourage EVERYONE who owns one of these scanners or would consider buying one (they're REALLY good and portable) to write to Canon's customer support: if enough of us do, maybe we could get a driver for the scanner soon, and maybe we could even convert Canon into a Linux friendly company!

------------------------------ ----------------------
    You wrote:
    --------------------------------------------