Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Frostwire Installation trouble

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    65

    Question Frostwire Installation trouble

    After installing FrostWire 4.18.0.deb file for ubuntu and installing it, I received the following error when trying to run it;
    Code:
    One or more necessary files appears to be invalid...
    I've looked around the net a bit and found that usually its a java issue, however I seem to be using a supported version. Here is what sudo update-alternatives --config java returns;

    Code:
    There are 2 alternatives which provide `java'.
    
      Selection    Alternative
    -----------------------------------------------
     +        1    /usr/lib/jvm/java-6-openjdk/jre/bin/java
    *         2    /usr/lib/jvm/java-6-sun/jre/bin/java

    Here is the error from frostwire;
    Code:
    FrostWire version 4.17
    Java version 1.6.0_07 from Sun Microsystems Inc.
    Linux v. 2.6.24-23-generic on amd64
    Free/total memory: 61275512/62259200
    
    java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/limewire/util/VersionUtils
    	at com.limegroup.gnutella.gui.GUILoader.load(Unknown Source)
    	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
    	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:39)
    	at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:25)
    	at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:597)
    	at com.limegroup.gnutella.gui.Main.main(Unknown Source)
    Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: org.limewire.util.VersionUtils
    	at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:200)
    	at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
    	at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:188)
    	at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
    	at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:276)
    	at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:251)
    	at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClassInternal(ClassLoader.java:319)
    	... 6 more
    
    STARTUP ERROR!
    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Beans
    1,650
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Frostwire Installation trouble

    try opening synaptic (system > administration > synaptic package manager)....search for "openjdk" and uninstall any openjdk packages that are installed.

    next search for "sun" and install the following if they are not installed already:

    sun-java6-bin
    sun-java6-fonts
    sun-java6-jre

    see if that helps.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    65

    Re: Frostwire Installation trouble

    Just realised I have both JRE and JDK installed, but I need at JDK for some java apps I run. Guess I'm crap out of luck, ty.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    35
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Frostwire Installation trouble

    I was having pretty much the same error. I got it to work though. Try going to synaptic package manager, install sun java, then uninstall frostwire. (sudo apt-get remove frostwire) then go to the website and re-installed it. Thats what I did and it works fine now.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    179

    Re: Frostwire Installation trouble

    Just so you know, you can have OpenJDK-jre installed at the same time as Sun-Java-Jre. They are both JRE's but different implementations. Java is more stable/supported. When you do:

    sudo update-alternatives --config java

    It gives you the path to each JRE. So if you press "2" and then hit enter, your java programs start running with sun-java-jre. if you press "1" and hit enter, then they'll run using OpenJDK. The program "java" is just a link to either Sun's or OpenJDK's Java Runtime Environment.



    LOOOOOOOOOOL. I just installed the new 4.18 Frostwire and I ran into your problem. The developpers forgot to include a class in the package! try installing 4.17 if u can find it!
    Last edited by FIONEX; May 16th, 2009 at 06:02 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    USA New York
    Beans
    1,451
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: Frostwire Installation trouble

    How does Frostwire work?
    Do you get any bogus files?

    I've been having great results with Nicotine-Plus.
    It's in the repos.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Beans
    75
    Distro
    Edubuntu

    Re: Frostwire Installation trouble

    Quote Originally Posted by cybrsaylr View Post
    How does Frostwire work?
    Do you get any bogus files?

    I've been having great results with Nicotine-Plus.
    It's in the repos.


    Yes there are some bogus files and you have to be careful when you play files in windows machine as some have viruses. I usually 'preview' before I finish downloading to make sure it's a fair dinkum file.

    I seem to get a lot less 'junk' results than with limewire - it seems to be better at weeding them out.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Beans
    424
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Frostwire Installation trouble

    Here is a link to the i586 version 4.17. Just change the link as needed for different versions:

    http://main2.frostwire.com/frostwire....17.0.i586.deb

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    25

    Re: Frostwire Installation trouble

    I had this problem. I went back to an earlier version of frostwire and al was well again.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Frostwire Installation trouble

    I think there is something wrong with the newest frostwire debian package. So I went to www.frostwire.com and downloaded the fedora rpm version instead and saved it to my home directory. Then I opened a terminal and installed alien to convert the rpm to a deb.

    Here is what I did in the terminal:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install alien
    sudo alien -i frostwire-4.18.0.noarch.rpm
    Now I have the newest version of frostwire working on ubuntu.
    You can do that in the terminal or you can just download my converted deb file here:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?zenzgvyl4wa
    Last edited by uptheirons1; July 27th, 2009 at 09:23 PM. Reason: solved the problem

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •