Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 34

Thread: Proper fix for > Realtek ALC1200 Audio = no sound

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    5

    Smile Re: Proper fix for > Realtek ALC1200 Audio = no sound

    DJamu, I've been trying to overcome this same issue with ALSA and PulseAudio.

    I've compiled the latest RealTek drivers/plugins/libs/etc. Tried the probe_mask=1 option in the /etc/modprobe.d/sound configuration file. Nothing changes the behavior of the machine, which is zero sound except that amarok does make something very faint, while the volume/mixer is cranked to the max.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Paul

    Code:
    Prompt: aplay -l
    aplay: device_list:223: no soundcards found...
    Prompt: sudo cat /proc/asound/card0/codec#0 | grep Codec
    Codec: Realtek ALC1200
    Prompt: sudo lshw -class sound
      *-multimedia
           description: Audio device
           product: MCP61 High Definition Audio
           vendor: nVidia Corporation
           physical id: 5
           bus info: pci@0000:00:05.0
           version: a2
           width: 32 bits
           clock: 66MHz
           capabilities: pm msi ht bus_master cap_list
           configuration: driver=HDA Intel latency=0 maxlatency=5 mingnt=2
           resources: irq:22 memory:fe024000-fe027fff
    Prompt: uname -a
    Linux Host 2.6.28-11-generic #42-Ubuntu SMP Fri Apr 17 01:58:03 UTC 2009 x86_64 GNU/Linux

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    kazakhstan
    Beans
    38
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Proper fix for > Realtek ALC1200 Audio = no sound

    [QUOTE=UnicornsRock420;8922058]DJamu, I've been trying to overcome this same issue with ALSA and PulseAudio.

    hi i assure u that there is no problem not even in 0.00001% to get acl 1200 work in karmic or lucid. i wasted 2 weeks before i found best solution to get it to work. there is if u start in fresh karmic for example u cant just go to modprobe.d edit add your card and it would work u need few things alsa new driver library etc. so if u have freh lucid or karmic that the right way to do follow that tutorial :

    <snip>

    in place where u wil need to install alsa driver and lib go to realtek web and get the newest audio pack in it u will have alsa driver lb tools utils.
    after u finish reboot pc as that guy says in that tuto then start alsaconf from shell and save it your card still wouldnt work. so than go to that web:

    <snip>

    there will be part u need to cpy and paste in your alsaconf file in modprobe.d u need to use gksudo nautilus to be abble to save changes.

    in part where u chose model i used targa 8ch so i have propper surround and strong sound.

    after that reboot and your sound will work for sure jut follow those tutorials took me mpre then 2 weeks to get my sond work find the propper solution etc tnx and good luck

    ps with those tutos u will get max u can get from your acl 1200 without need to uninstall pulse audio oss etc
    Last edited by Sef; March 6th, 2010 at 04:17 AM. Reason: Bad Links Snipped

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    kazakhstan
    Beans
    38
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Proper fix for > Realtek ALC1200 Audio = no sound

    Quote Originally Posted by djamu View Post
    Proper fix for Realtek ALC1200

    took me a while to figure this one out > thanks to the guys at the Fedora forums.

    solution is simple. just create an option config file in /etc/modprobe.d/

    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/hda_intel.conf
    and paste this in it.

    Code:
    options snd-hda-intel model=auto probe_mask=1
    save this
    reboot ( or restart your services etc ... )

    check your volume is up...

    have fun...

    so thats not the proper fix it wouldnt work if u got new karmic or lucid or interpid u need first install proper drivers lib utils codecs etc

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    home
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Proper fix for > Realtek ALC1200 Audio = no sound

    sorry was away for a while

    Quote Originally Posted by Trinity33 View Post
    DJamu, I've been trying to overcome this same issue with ALSA and PulseAudio.

    snipsnip....

    hi i assure u that there is no problem not even in 0.00001% to get acl 1200 work in karmic or lucid.
    Obvious ...this wasn't a fix for karmic / lucid in the first place .... check 1st post date before you claim something


    WTF ... these links don't work / exist ( 4 hours after you posted them ) ...

    Quote Originally Posted by Trinity33 View Post
    so thats not the proper fix it wouldnt work if u got new karmic or lucid or interpid u need first install proper drivers lib utils codecs etc

    I think your just a spammer / newbie > ... again this wasn't a fix for karmic / lucid but for 9.04


    Last edited by djamu; March 6th, 2010 at 04:20 AM.
    democracy : 2 wolves and a sheep voting on "what's for dinner"
    i am self-employed, and my views reflect the electrical charges held between many simultaneously firing synapses... or is that synapsi?
    http://3d.uk.to

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    home
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Proper fix for > Realtek ALC1200 Audio = no sound

    Hi paul

    Quote Originally Posted by UnicornsRock420 View Post
    DJamu, I've been trying to overcome this same issue with ALSA and PulseAudio.

    I've compiled the latest RealTek drivers/plugins/libs/etc. Tried the probe_mask=1 option in the /etc/modprobe.d/sound configuration file. Nothing changes the behavior of the machine, which is zero sound except that amarok does make something very faint, while the volume/mixer is cranked to the max.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Paul
    What version of ubuntu are you using ?
    The fix was for 9.04 with default driver .. ( it just enabled it )

    The very faint sound can mean that you didn't crank up all volume controls ( not just the master volume control )


    Code:
    Prompt: aplay -l
    aplay: device_list:223: no soundcards found...
    Prompt: sudo cat /proc/asound/card0/codec#0 | grep Codec
    Codec: Realtek ALC1200
    Prompt: sudo lshw -class sound
      *-multimedia
           description: Audio device
           product: MCP61 High Definition Audio
           vendor: nVidia Corporation
           physical id: 5
           bus info: pci@0000:00:05.0
           version: a2
           width: 32 bits
           clock: 66MHz
           capabilities: pm msi ht bus_master cap_list
           configuration: driver=HDA Intel latency=0 maxlatency=5 mingnt=2
           resources: irq:22 memory:fe024000-fe027fff
    Prompt: uname -a
    Linux Host 2.6.28-11-generic #42-Ubuntu SMP Fri Apr 17 01:58:03 UTC 2009 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    mmm looking at the kernel I assume you are indeed using 9.04

    Unfortunately the for-mentioned motherboard is now in use as a fileserver for my raid-6 running debian. I might have some time on sunday to temporary install ubuntu 9.04 on it ( I need to move my compute nodes / servers to a new rack ... )

    ... I'll keep you updated

    Jan

    democracy : 2 wolves and a sheep voting on "what's for dinner"
    i am self-employed, and my views reflect the electrical charges held between many simultaneously firing synapses... or is that synapsi?
    http://3d.uk.to

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    1

    Smile Re: Proper fix for > Realtek ALC1200 Audio = no sound

    Hi.
    , i just joined a few days ago and lost my sound playability when i went to hardware updates. The info page said my software modem was deactivated.....of course thinking there was more to add to my operability i chose to activate/enable it, which then made my computer soundless.
    5 minutes ago i returned to hardware updates and deactivated it.
    Im proud to say sound is back on ready to rock and rolla!!!
    I hope this helps anybody else out there.
    .
    Quote of the day by fazzledanny: Opensource freeware turn stingy selfish ignorant people into caring sharing teamplayers, dont you forget that!

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    38

    Re: Proper fix for > Realtek ALC1200 Audio = no sound

    Quote Originally Posted by djamu View Post
    Proper fix for Realtek ALC1200

    took me a while to figure this one out > thanks to the guys at the Fedora forums.

    solution is simple. just create an option config file in /etc/modprobe.d/

    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/hda_intel.conf
    and paste this in it.

    Code:
    options snd-hda-intel model=auto probe_mask=1
    save this
    reboot ( or restart your services etc ... )

    check your volume is up...

    have fun...
    I recently installed Ubuntu 9.10 on a newly built PC with ASUS M4A79T Deluxe motherboard that uses Realtek ALC1200 integrated audio and am having the same problem with no audio. I'm looking to get analog working for my Logitech z-5300.

    My motherboard is AMD and I'm wondering what I'd have to do differently with this fix to get my audio working. Also, does the Realteck ACL1200 driver come with Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala as a stock driver (because I haven't installed it manually myself)?

    I'm an audio noob, so any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by curtissthompson; March 15th, 2010 at 01:36 AM.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Wrocław, Poland
    Beans
    34
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Exclamation Re: Proper fix for > Realtek ALC1200 Audio = no sound

    -
    Last edited by LittleJakub; April 23rd, 2010 at 08:02 AM. Reason: I think I put it in wrong place...

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    16

    Re: Proper fix for > Realtek ALC1200 Audio = no sound

    Oh the realtek soundcard( i have it on my msi s420) made me have this problem over and over again. Under ubuntu 8.04 it miraculously worked, i guess due to OSS.
    I upgraded recently to 9.04, 9.10 and today to 10.4 and in neither of the three the sound worked and i cant find the switch to OSS.
    solution one, the sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/hda_intel.conf thingie, didnt do it for me. Now im trying the realtek driver
    How I hate this, ill promiss never to buy a realtek-embedded computer again.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    16

    Re: Proper fix tried driver realtek

    Well mixed results, with the driver that is provided by(?) realtek.
    For Ubuntu; it has to be installed by hand, this is not easy.

    Ill post the readme that is provided with the package here:
    Code:
    The source code copy from www.alsa-project.org.      ver:5.14
    Linux Source Code for ALC audio codec
    Support Codec list:
    ====AC97 Codec=====
    ALC100,100P
    ALC200,200P
    ALC650D
    ALC650E
    ALC650F
    ALC650
    ALC655
    ALC653
    ALC658
    ALC658D
    ALC850
    ALC101
    ALC202
    ALC250
    ALC203
    
    ====HD Audio codec ====
    ALC260
    ALC262
    ALC267
    ALC268
    ALC259
    ALC269
    ALC270
    ALC272
    ALC275
    ALC660
    ALC660VD
    ALC661
    ALC662
    ALC663
    ALC665
    ALC670
    ALC861
    ALC861VD
    ALC880
    ALC882
    ALC883
    ALC885
    ALC888
    ALC889A
    ALC892
    
    Installation:
    This Source Code is from www.alsa-project.org.
    For OS installation, please remember add the Development tool kit.
    For driver installation, please follow below steps. 
    
    Automatic install: (Recommend RedHat distribution)
    execute
    
      ./install
    
    Note: Ubuntu OS, please use manual install.
          Run commands need to add sudo at first words.   
    
    Manual install:
    Step 1. unzip source code
            tar xfvj alsa-driver-1.0.xx.tar.bz2
    
    Step 2. Turn on sound support from kernel config 
    	(soundcore module, default turn on)
    
    Step 3. Complied source code
    	a. cd alsa-driver-1.0.xx
    	b. ./configure (--with-cards=hda-intel)<= for HDA options
    	c. make
    	d. make install
    	e. alsaconf
    
    Step 4. Edit your /etc/modules.conf or conf.modules depending on the distribution
     	(Please refer to the attached modules.conf)
    	 
            snd-xxxx is the card ID.
    
    	-- Azalia controller --ALC880 ALC882 ALC260 ALC262 ALC883 ALC885 ALC888
    	   --- Intel ICH6 ICH7 ---------
                   snd-hda-intel
    
            -- AC97 controller --ALC655 ALC650 ALC250 ALC255
               --- Intel ICH6 ICH7 , SiS 7012 and NVidia----------
                   snd-intel8x0
               --- Via8233 Via686a  -------------------------------    
    	       snd-via82xx
               --- ATI Chipset  -------------------------------
    	       snd-atiixp
    
            Copy and paste this to the bottom of your /etc/modules.conf or /etc/modprobe.conf file.
    	# ALSA portion
              alias char-major-116 snd
              alias snd-card-0 snd-xxxx     
            # OSS/Free portion
              alias char-major-14 soundcore
              alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
            # card #1
              alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
              alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
              alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
              alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
              alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
    
    Step 5. reboot your machine
    
    Step 6. Use the alsamixer the disable mute (All audio line default is mute)
            Must to compile and to install the ALSA library and utility. (Use automatic install is already install)
            excute alsamixer
    
    Note: 	1. The most detail information, can refer the alsa-kernel/Documenttation/ALSA-Configuration.txt in the azx-021705.tar.bz2.
    	2. Kernel Version must be 2.6 or later.
    	3. All mixer channels are muted by default. You must use a native
    		or OSS mixer program to unmute appropriate channels.
    	4. If can not compile the source code, try to rename the /usr/src/linux-2.x -> /usr/src/linux.
    	5. The driver added to support the SPDIF functoin. 	
    	6. a. You can download the alsa-lib-1.0.x and alsa-utils-1.0.x form the www.alsa-project.org, then unzip and install them. 
    	   b. Suggest use "alsamixer" to control mixer function.
    	   c. Used "alsaconf" can autodetect which drive you need to install (step 4). 	
            7. SUSE Distribution must install the ncurses package.
    I posted it here because this may be tricky and because it includes a long list of realtek chipsets that have this problem.
    In terms of steps, make install won't go right unless you do it as root or as sudo. Step 2 can be skipped. I am stuck halfway down step 4 because there is neither a /etc/modules.conf or /etc/modprobe.conf file to edit.

    Does anyone know if I can safely put the module info in the "etc/modules" file instead?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •