Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Cannot Connect

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    105

    Talking Cannot Connect

    I have a dual-boot system, running 9.04 and WinXP. WinXP connects to the Internet, no problem. Jaunty was connecting this morning, but now, after reboot, it won't connect. Today's activities before reboot: installing packages via Synaptic and add-ons for Firefox (new Ubuntu installation). I connect two machines to DSL via wired connection to router. I'm typing this on the other machine, so router etc. seems OK.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Not heaven... Iowa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Cannot Connect

    Does it get IP address? (I'm having similar problem on laptop that worked until this morning.)
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad] [Sub-forum]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    5,549

    Re: Cannot Connect

    post outptu of ifconfig from the terminal

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    105

    Re: Cannot Connect

    Here it is:

    ray@ANTEC:~$ ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1f:e2:07:2c:8c
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Interrupt:251 Base address:0xa000

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1b:21:2e:12:11
    inet6 addr: fe80::21b:21ff:fe2e:1211/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:17 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
    RX bytes:1154 (1.1 KB) TX bytes:468 (468.0 B)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:592 (592.0 B) TX bytes:592 (592.0 B)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    5,549

    Re: Cannot Connect

    in your terminal type the following 2 commands and then try
    1)sudo dhclient eth0
    2)sudo dhclient eth1

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    105

    Re: Cannot Connect

    Brilliant! At least it seems to have worked on eth1. It "killed old client process, removed PID file," did its DHCPOFFER and DHCPREQUEST, etc. So I'm getting webpages in Firefox now. Thank you!

    On eth0, I got "No DHCPOFFERS received. No working leases in persistent database - sleeping." Attempts to start Google Earth still fail with an Error code: 29. "Google Earth detected an error while trying to authenticate. Please check the following: - your network connection (can you get to ww.google.com?) [Yes, I can.] - your firewall settings (are you blocking /home/ray/google-earth/googleearth-bin?" (I don't think so.)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    105

    Re: Cannot Connect

    Update: logged in again. Now the network icon on the top panel says, "No network connection."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Beans
    4

    Re: Cannot Connect

    I have similar problems...
    My card was working well till yesterday, after installing the last recommended updates.
    The strange thing is that my ethernet card seems to be connected (gets an ip) but I don't have access neither to the web nor my router ip! The same thing happens if I use my linksys usb wifi adapter. It connects to my router (asks about the WPA2 password) but firefox cannot connect. I have tried other programs like Ekiga, Pidgin, Add/remove programs. Updates manager but there is no connection with the web.
    If I type dhclient eth0 I get the following text:
    wmaster0:unknown hardware address type 801
    can't create /var/lib/dhcp3/dhclient.leases: permission denied
    SIOCSIFADDR: permission denied
    SIOCSIFFLAGS: permission denied
    wmaster0:unknown hardware address type 801
    open a socket for LPF: Operation not permitted
    I am a new user to ubuntu and I don't know what to do...
    Please help.
    My system is a Compaq Presario 1510EA laptop with 512MB Ram and only Ubuntu 9.04 installed (no dual boot).
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I looked at http://ubuntuforums.org/forumdisplay...er=desc&page=2
    and followed the advise to remove network manager and install wicd manager. After this my laptop keeps to connect (ethernet and wireless) to my router but no internet.
    I checked /etc/resolv.conf and it shows the correct nameservers that also use my second pc connected to the same router and running winxp. This pc has internet access so the router is OK.
    I used livecd 8.1 on my laptop and internet is OK. The problem is only with jaunty.
    Do I have to go back to 8?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    5,549

    Re: Cannot Connect

    im thinking this is a bug.. i've seen such threads earlier as well..you could try setting up static ip so you dont need to depend on the router to give you an ip.. http://www.prash-babu.com/2009/01/ho...in-ubuntu.html

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    53

    Re: Cannot Connect

    This is the problem sometimes happens for me too. And the only way is to restart computer-even many times.
    I have reinstalled ubuntu 8.04 again due to problem I had with win XP. But I remember I had this problem with the previous installation at the firs days. But it was working well after one or more weeks. Maybe it was gone because of updates I installed.
    I mentioned it here too: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1039347

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •