Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: ubuntu or linux mint?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

ubuntu or linux mint?

Since I'm still relatively new to ubuntu and want to gradually move away from microsoft windows, I'd like to ask the experts' comments on the main difference between ubuntu and linux mint.

Checking out linux mint's site, I read that it's package base is ubuntu. I didn't really understand the other technical stuff. I use the computer a lot for office programs, and I'm dabbling into multimedia with the aim of getting into it more seriously in the near future. Since I plan to switch from windows, I'd appreciate geting some advice on which to spend time discovering more before making the final switch.

Beans
    Distro

Re: ubuntu or linux mint?

I tried Mint, but I really didn't like it. Came back to Ubuntu.
    Don
    Looks fine to me but then I don't know/care what you run

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

either Ubuntu or Mint will be fine. its pretty much like the difference between coke and pepsi

since you mentioned using office related programs, you should see if there are linux equivalents of the software, or if you can run the windows app in wine if you have to.

You can boot off of the liveCD and play around in linux to get comfortable with it before diving in and installing it if you like

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

I haven't tried it. I considered it, but decided against it.

Mint comes in a version with a wide range of Multimedia codecs already installed.

They also use a customized version of Grub - that was one of the things that made me decide against it. I don' need no steenkin' Grub wars on my PC. <G>
    BootInfoScript - Thanks, meierfra & caljohnsmith

Remastersys - Thanks, Fragadelic

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope