Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 46

Thread: Known Jaunty Jackalope bugs with workarounds

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    France
    Beans
    7,100
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Known Jaunty Jackalope bugs with workarounds

    Disclaimer : The purpose of this thread is just to list known Jaunty Jackalope bugs and give the corresponding workarounds and launchpad entries. All discussions about the bug or the workaround itself must go in the thread dedicated to the bug.

    Please do not list bugs here without any workaround


    -------------------------------------------------

    >>>>>> Official Release Notes : <<<<<<


    Note: The release notes list know bugs and bug reports and solutions (if any). Please read the release notes before installing or upgrading to Jaunty (Ubuntu 9.04).

    http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/releasenotes/904

    Performance regressions on Intel graphics cards:
    - Bug Report: http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/rele...aphics%20cards
    - Workaround: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1130582

    Nvidia non-root permissions bug
    - Bug Report: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...80/+bug/370249
    - Workaround: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...82&postcount=3

    Camera doesn't mount when connected and switched on
    - Bug Report: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ux/+bug/301281
    - Workaround: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...51&postcount=4

    Remote Desktop (vnc) screen freezes when remote host is 9.04
    - Bug Report: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...iz/+bug/353126
    - Workaround: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...10&postcount=5

    Jaunty 9.04 Blind to XP's Shared Network Printer
    - Bug Report: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ba/+bug/368273
    - Workaround: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...97&postcount=6

    Editing calendar events to recur forever corrupts the calendar the event is tied to
    - Bug Report: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...on/+bug/362318
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...on/+bug/372503
    - Workaround: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...5&postcount=18 or the one proposed in bug report.

    wubi installer's pyrun.exe says "no disk"
    - Bug Report: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/365881
    - Workaround: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...6&postcount=19

    mdadm software raid breaks on intrepid-jaunty upgrade
    - Bug Report: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...dm/+bug/330298
    - Workaround: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...0&postcount=19

    Grip can't eject CD and also rips slow
    - Bug Report: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ip/+bug/382013
    - Workaround: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...9&postcount=28

    2.6.28-11 causes data corruption on some 64 bit installations
    - Bug Report: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...1?comments=all
    - Workaround: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...8&postcount=29

    update-manager doesn't show updates, even after 1 week
    - Bug Report: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...er/+bug/356152
    - Workaround: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...7&postcount=34

    -------------------------------------------------



    Fell free to propose other known Jaunty Jackalope bugs to be listed here but think to provide a link to the workaround and a link to the corresponding launchpad entry.

    Other ubuntu version "known bugs" threads :
    Intrepid Ibex known bugs
    Hardy Heron known bugs
    Last edited by frodon; June 21st, 2009 at 09:41 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    49

    Re: Known Jaunty Jackalope bugs with workarounds

    BUG:
    ====
    Installing the 64bit version of Jaunty I found the install would just hang at the splash screen(ok for 32bit which was odd).
    Found that as I did not have a floopy drive installed, the install would continual check for fd0

    WorkAround:
    ==========
    Disable the floppy drive in the bios.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Beans
    13,505
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Nvidia non-root permissions bug

    The permissions of the /dev/nvidia files cause errors when processes are launched with non-root privileges on my 64-bit 9.04 desktop system.

    In my case I get Direct Rendering errors when launching a Direct Rendering enabled VM inside VMware Server, but running glxinfo without sudo shows the error:

    NVIDIA: could not open the device file /dev/nvidiactl (Permission denied).

    I have found many other posts with the same issue (including people using Wine), and here is my current workaround since reinstalling the 180 driver package did not fix it:

    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/rc.local
    Add the following before "exit 0":

    Code:
    chmod 666 /dev/nvidia* &
    Launchpad: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...80/+bug/370249
    Regards, David.
    Please use the Forum search and Wiki search for immediate help
    Please mark your thread as Solved when appropriate
    New to technical forums?: How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    London, England
    Beans
    5,474
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Known Jaunty Jackalope bugs with workarounds

    Camera doesn't mount when connected and switched on.

    Many people have reported this bug.
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ux/+bug/301281

    Quick fix:
    Use the command:
    sudo killall gvfs-gphoto2-volume-monitor
    then connect the camera.

    Long-term fix:
    Prevent the process from starting. Use the command:
    sudo chmod -x /usr/lib/gvfs/gvfs-gphoto2-volume-monitor

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    13

    Remote Desktop Won't Refresh Screen

    Remote Desktop (vnc) screen freezes when remote host is 9.04 although mouse clicks and key commands still reach the target machine.

    The bug:
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...iz/+bug/353126

    The workaround:
    Disable Compiz on the remote machine
    System -> Preferences -> Appearance -> Visual Effects = None

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    332
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Known Jaunty Jackalope bugs with workarounds

    [BUG]-------------
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ba/+bug/368273
    When adding a printer attached to and shared on my Windows XP box with System->Administration->Printing, New->Network Printer->Windows Printer via SAMBA, Browse - you get right up to where clicking the little gray diamonds should reveal a networked printer and Poof the dialog crashes and is gone.

    [WORKAROUND]------
    Used the Windows box IP address instead of Browsing for the printer. This permits you to go to the next steps and create a printer, although it won't work yet, i.e. test page won't print. Next click the change URI button for the printer path name and it will present another opportunity to Browse. This time it will find the Windows printer, correctly changing the path and then the test page will print and the printer is setup.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by celem; May 5th, 2009 at 01:30 AM.
    ----
    Linux user since before Yggdrasil, Unix before that while with the real AT&T.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    North America
    Beans
    56
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Remote Desktop Won't Refresh Screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Just_SomeGuy View Post
    Remote Desktop (vnc) screen freezes when remote host is 9.04 although mouse clicks and key commands still reach the target machine.

    The bug:
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...iz/+bug/353126

    The workaround:
    Disable Compiz on the remote machine
    System -> Preferences -> Appearance -> Visual Effects = None

    How is that a workaround?

    Just when I was truly beginning to appreciate all that compiz had to offer. (80$ video card, 4 gigs of memory later).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    France
    Beans
    7,100
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Remote Desktop Won't Refresh Screen

    First post updated, thank you for your really useful reports.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    51
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    alarm-clock causes screen to freeze

    [BUG]-------------
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/ja...ck/+bug/321176
    opening alarm-clock causes screen to freeze

    [WORKAROUND]------
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/ja...76/comments/82
    install Alarm Clock 0.9.19 from getdeb

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    France
    Beans
    7,100
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: alarm-clock causes screen to freeze

    Quote Originally Posted by dli8ilb View Post
    [BUG]-------------
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/ja...ck/+bug/321176
    opening alarm-clock causes screen to freeze

    [WORKAROUND]------
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/ja...76/comments/82
    install Alarm Clock 0.9.19 from getdeb
    The bug report says fix commited, i guess there should be a packet in the repo or soon available in the repo which fixes it

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •