Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should Fred Noob install 64 bit?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Should Fred Noob install 64 bit?

Should "Fred the Noob" install 64 bit Ubuntu 9? My CPU can do it--here are it's details: http://ubuntuforums.org/attachment.p...0&d=1240752404

I understand that I can't get Adobe Air and Flash 11, but I think that's OK.

I have a GeForce 8400 GS card also but it seems that EnvyNG will work for me: http://albertomilone.com/nvidia_scripts1.html

EDIT: I also need VirtualBox and IES4linux, but it seems that both will work. (END EDIT)

So what is the recommendation for me? 64 or 32? I am a real newbie and I want Ubuntu to be very easy for me so that this time I will stick with it. I tried with 8 and reverted back to Windows.

Thanks!
    Last edited by FredJones; April 27th, 2009 at 11:49 AM.

Beans
    Distro

Re: Should Fred Noob install 64 bit?

Opera seems to have a 64 bit version and I think Java runtime also does. Is there anything serious I will be missing?

and are there are any disadvantages for a noob like me to running 64 bit?

I"m ready to install, but I want to use the right one.

Thanks!

Opera seems to have a 64 bit version and I think Java runtime also does. Is there anything serious I will be missing?

and are there are any disadvantages for a noob like me to running 64 bit?
    64-bit works great. Opera has a 64-bit version that is easy to install. For Java, you can download either Sun Java or OpenJDK. You can install 32-bit apps on 64-bit apps.
    Learning is not attained by chance, it must be sought for with ardor and attended to with diligence. Abigail Adams ( 1744 - 1818 ), 1780;

My blog Poetry and More Free Ubuntu Magazine

Beans
    Distro

Great. I will try 64 bit.

Thanks!!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

I used 64-bit for a year, and am going back to 32-bit.

Great OS, fewer programs working than 32-bit.