Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Keyboard not working in ubuntu 9.04

Beans

Angry Keyboard not working in ubuntu 9.04

Please be informed that I'm a real newbie for Linux. But I'm somehow attracted to Linux for it's simplicity and usability.

Recently I downloaded and installed Ubuntu 9.04 in my 2 gb pen drive (using windows interface) and booted it for live experience. Everything went fine...., but the keyboard....

I'am using Lenovo y 500 series laptop and while I booted from pen drive I am unable to type anything, as it is not detected by Ubuntu. All the other features are working fine.

(P.S. all the hardware's are working fine with Win xp)

Hoping to get a clue

Thanking all in advance

Aakash

Beans

Smile Re: Keyboard not working in ubuntu 9.04

Was the LiveCD working with your keyboard. Obviously yes u installed it.

But u had to select the correct keyboard. I think u have made an error here.

Which features are working fine, if u cant login with out a keyboard??????????????????

Beans

Re: Keyboard not working in ubuntu 9.04

KhurramM

Thanks for your response!

Concerning to the features that are working fine;

I mean I can boot, I can surf, I can play multimedia files and view (not edit) existing files in my machine, with the help of the mouse.

Though I am very new to Linux, I did tried to alter the keyboard settings, but couldn't figure it out.

Any clue??

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Hi Aakash,

I found this while doing a search, so I have no clue if it will work for you or not. It did work for several other, and they are all using Lenovo 3000 Y500 laptops, though.

Please post back the results, so I'll know if it works, in case the question comes up again.

You need to edit your menu.lst file. You can do this from within Ubuntu using a Terminal shell. The first thing to do is backup the menu.lst file, so you have a copy to restore if needed. In the Terminal window, type
    Code: