Thread: Compatible Drivers For ATI X3870X2

Beans

Compatible Drivers For ATI X3870X2

greetings to yall....
    Im new to ubuntu, and have a good question to ask...
    I got the desktop version of 9.04 and love it so far
    I tryed allot and even read up on sites but not a starit answer
    some say this and some say that, even ATI says theyr work on ubuntu
    anuways

I have a HIS Radeon x3870 X2 1GB GDDR3 - H387X2F1GNP

is this card compatible?
    I rad some place saying no and some saying yes and *rolls eyes*
    I tryed activating the driver, but after a reboot it crashed badly, leaving some vertical lines on the top

Full PC Spec
    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ / 3.2 GHz prosessor - Model: ADX6400CZWOF
    MotherBoard: MSI K9A Platinum - hovedkort - ATX - 580X CrossFire
    VidCard: HIS Radeon x3870 X2 1GB GDDR3 - Model: H387X2F1GNP
    RAM: Corsair XMS2 Xtreme Performance TwinX Matched - Model: TWIN2X2048-6400C4

I know the motherboard is CRAP... Im praying for my computer to die soon so I can buy new parts *grinz*

So what Im asking is...
    is there a driver that would make my videocard fully work?
    and if so, would you please wright a stupids guide how to do it? LOL I ot basic knowledge but aint that good yet

hope some can shine abit light on my situation
    sorry for typos and whatnot
    thanks
    -tbs-

Beans

Re: Compatible Drivers For ATI X3870X2

guess I figured out how to build a package in the terminal....
    but when it starts to install it asks me to incert the "Ubuntu 9.04_Jaunty Jakalope_-Release i386(20090420.1)
    so I tryed burning the SAME iso I used and poped it into my cd rom, but it still asks me for it...
    what have I done wrong?

I do hope someone that could help me

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by thebigschwag View Post
    guess I figured out how to build a package in the terminal....