Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: Anyone got 2.6.30rc1 working properly?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sweden
    Beans
    2,594
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Anyone got 2.6.30rc1 working properly?

    Quote Originally Posted by DougieFresh4U View Post
    Not to "hijack" thread, but does .30 work with 'fglrx'' ATI, as .29 doesn't?
    No idea, I am a nVidia freak..

    The Unofficial ATI driver place again

    http://wiki.cchtml.com/index.php/Ubu...allation_Guide

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    3,879
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Anyone got 2.6.30rc1 working properly?

    AMD Phenom X3, ATI HD3650 (radeon driver), 3G RAM, works like a charm!
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...&postcount=326
    Last edited by zika; April 11th, 2009 at 07:04 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    796

    Re: Anyone got 2.6.30rc1 working properly?

    Thanks again Plun.

    I'm still confused that, despite the comments on this page http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=131138, 185.19 works for me with 2.6.29.1 but not with 2.6.30rc1

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Rochester, N.Y.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Anyone got 2.6.30rc1 working properly?

    Would some one please point me to .30 .deb or repo please?
    Thanks, Dougie
    (Was)Windows Free At Last
    "May You Have A Safe Trip and A Successful Journey"
    Linux user #432153 Ubuntu user #8521

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Just call me JF
    Beans
    1,052
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Anyone got 2.6.30rc1 working properly?

    http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa...e/v2.6.30-rc1/

    It's also in the first post.

    I'm always nervous about touching early kernel rc's...
    Last edited by jfernyhough; April 11th, 2009 at 07:59 PM.
    1) Dell Studio 1749: i5 540 (2.5GHz), 8GB, ATi 5650, Intel 5300AGN XFCE@Manjaro-x64
    2) Lenovo X61: C2D T7200, 2GB, Intel HDA, iwlwifi, XFCE@Manjaro-x64
    3) Compaq Mini 311c: Atom N270 (OC@2.0GHz), 3GB, Nvidia ION, Broadcom G+BT XFCE@13.10x32

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    796

    Re: Anyone got 2.6.30rc1 working properly?

    Yep, that's where I picked it up.

    Install both of the "all" debs and both of the debs for your architecture (i.e. 4 debs altogether).

    This apparently won't work for me unless I patch the nvidia 185.19 driver, although I don't understand why this wasn't an issue with 2.6.29.1

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Beans
    581

    Re: Anyone got 2.6.30rc1 working properly?

    I wonder if the nvidia drivers fail on libdrm as the ati drivers do in 2.6.29 and forward? Has anyone been able to pull up a log from the 2.6.30 to see what is failing for nvidias?


    64-Bit Ubuntu! Join the future of computing.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    796

    Re: Anyone got 2.6.30rc1 working properly?

    See my earlier post listing the contents of /var/lib/dkms/nvidia/185.19/build/make.log and this page http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=131138, which says that 185.19 needs to be patched for both 2.6.29 and 2.6.30

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Rochester, N.Y.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Anyone got 2.6.30rc1 working properly?

    Thanks for the links.

    Yikes!!!
    All went good until I rebooted and clicked 'hardware drivers'. Installed 'fglrx' and rebooted, first sign of trouble was no 'loading bar' and nothing after that.
    So retreat back to .28 (with tail between my legs)
    (Was)Windows Free At Last
    "May You Have A Safe Trip and A Successful Journey"
    Linux user #432153 Ubuntu user #8521

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    45

    Re: Anyone got 2.6.30rc1 working properly?

    Hmm, maybe I'm missing something?
    Installing and booting linux-image...generic...i386.deb and linux-headers...all I get a totally distorted screen/Xorg with .29 and a nice looking but not responding to keyboard (mouse moveable) Xorg/GDM on my Travelmate C110/Intel 855GM /w EXA and UXA?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •