Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Nvidia display help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    11

    Nvidia display help

    Ok, for starters, here is my HTPC build:

    E5200 2.5 Wolfdale
    Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DSH2 w/ GeForce 9400
    4GB Corsair ram
    Mythbuntu 8.10 x86_64
    Nvidia 180.44 x86_64
    Samsung HD DLP HL-S5086W using HDMI

    I also am not very familiar with linux, so I probably missed something simple. Now, when the system starts, I get all the way to the NVidia splash screen, then the TV says there is no signal. The computer is still running cause I can ssh in and hit Ctrl-Alt-F1 to get to the prompt. I'm assuming that the TV doesn't like the resolution that the driver is selecting, because using the VESA mode works fine. I need help configuring xorg.conf. I really have no clue what the correct settings and options would be. According to the TV manual, I should use:

    1280 x 720p
    Horiz 45.00
    Vert 60
    Pixel Clock 74.25

    I have attatched the xorg.0.log and the xorg.conf files. Thanks for any help you can give.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, NZ
    Beans
    3,239

    Re: Nvidia display help

    Only thing I can see from those files is that horizsync and vertrefresh figures are not quoted, but I am not sure if that will make a difference.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    11

    Re: Nvidia display help

    Quote Originally Posted by nickrout View Post
    Only thing I can see from those files is that horizsync and vertrefresh figures are not quoted, but I am not sure if that will make a difference.
    I'll try it. At this point I'll try anything

    Guess that wasn't it:

    Code:
    Parse error on line 41 of section Monitor in file /etc/X11/xorg.conf
            The HorizSync keyword must be followed by a list of numbers or ranges.
    Oh well. Thanks for the suggestion though!
    Last edited by KeefTM; April 5th, 2009 at 01:12 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, NZ
    Beans
    3,239

    Re: Nvidia display help

    I don't see any obvious errors in your log file. can't work that one out at all.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    11

    Re: Nvidia display help

    Quote Originally Posted by nickrout View Post
    I don't see any obvious errors in your log file. can't work that one out at all.
    Yeah, the log doesn't show any errors either. I'm just lost on this one.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, NZ
    Beans
    3,239

    Re: Nvidia display help

    You could try taking the modes line out of xorg.conf and see what it auto detects. For example in my log file it simply shows as using he highest available mode vis nvidia-auto-select like this:

    (II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Device: DFP-0
    (==) NVIDIA(0):
    (==) NVIDIA(0): No modes were requested; the default mode "nvidia-auto-select"
    (==) NVIDIA(0): will be used as the requested mode.
    (==) NVIDIA(0):
    (II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
    (II) NVIDIA(0): "nvidia-auto-select"
    (II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1920 x 1080
    (++) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (100, 100); computed from -dpi X commandline option
    (==) NVIDIA(0): Disabling 32-bit ARGB GLX visuals.
    If your TV is providing good edid info it may "just work"

    my screen as defined in xorg.conf says:

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Device0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    11

    Re: Nvidia display help

    Quote Originally Posted by nickrout View Post
    You could try taking the modes line out of xorg.conf and see what it auto detects. For example in my log file it simply shows as using he highest available mode vis nvidia-auto-select like this:



    If your TV is providing good edid info it may "just work"

    my screen as defined in xorg.conf says:
    I tried that first, but no dice. I only put the Modes in because the nvidia-auto-detect wasn't working. The auto detect was picking the correct resolution though. If I don't use the nvidia driver everything works, I can use the tv no problems. So odd.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    11

    Re: Nvidia display help

    Oddest thing. My TV has a 'Game Mode' and if I switch it on to that, I can see the window manager. But there still is a big "No signal" warning and if I switch the tv I lose the picture. I'm starting to think that this video card and my TV just aren't going to work together.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Spain
    Beans
    134
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Nvidia display help

    Well, my TV is a Panasonic, and I use it in 720p mode, with an Nvidia card (8400). I adapted it following some advice in the XBMC forums.

    If you want to give it a try, the relevant parts of my xorg.conf are :


    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Unknown"
    ModelName "Panasonic-TV"
    HorizSync 15.0 - 68.0
    VertRefresh 23.0 - 61.0
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Device0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    Option "NoLogo"
    Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
    Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "True"
    Option "FlatPanelProperties" "Scaling = Native"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    11

    Re: Nvidia display help

    I tried those, no luck either. I'm sending an email to Nvidia, hopefully I can get in touch with someone that can help me. I can't figure out why the vesa drivers work at 1280x720 and nvidia's does not.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •