Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Mounting Vista spanned volume

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    61

    Re: Mounting Vista spanned volume

    Quote Originally Posted by taurus View Post
    How about

    Code:
    uname -m
    file ldminfo
    ldd ldminfo
    Code:
    patrick@Ubuntu-Desktop:~/linux-ldm-0.0.8/test$ uname -m
    x86_64
    patrick@Ubuntu-Desktop:~/linux-ldm-0.0.8/test$ file ldminfo
    ldminfo: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), for GNU/Linux 2.2.5, dynamically linked (uses shared libs), stripped
    patrick@Ubuntu-Desktop:~/linux-ldm-0.0.8/test$ ldd ldminfo
    	not a dynamic executable
    patrick@Ubuntu-Desktop:~/linux-ldm-0.0.8/test$

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Beans
    29,420

    Re: Mounting Vista spanned volume

    Quote Originally Posted by blackstripes View Post
    Code:
    patrick@Ubuntu-Desktop:~/linux-ldm-0.0.8/test$ uname -m
    x86_64
    patrick@Ubuntu-Desktop:~/linux-ldm-0.0.8/test$ file ldminfo
    ldminfo: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), for GNU/Linux 2.2.5, dynamically linked (uses shared libs), stripped
    That's your problem. You are running x86_64 (64bit) but ldminfo is a 32bit binary so you won't be able to run it unless you install the 32bit library on your machine first. Or recompile it again.

    Code:
    make
    In the world of Linux, who needs Windows and Gates...

    Got most of my golden beans at an auction on eBay (with a couple of free drinks).

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    61

    Re: Mounting Vista spanned volume

    Quote Originally Posted by taurus View Post
    That's your problem. You are running x86_64 (64bit) but ldminfo is a 32bit binary so you won't be able to run it unless you install the 32bit library on your machine first. Or recompile it again.

    Code:
    make
    That doesn't sound fun. What is my best option? I didn't compile it to begin with, here is a snippit that the document I linked to:

    Simply extract the downloaded archive (tar xvjf linux-ldm-0.0.8.tar.bz2), go into it (cd linux-ldm-0.0.8) and change to the test directory (cd test). You will find the precompiled (i386) ldminfo utility there. NOTE: You will not be able to compile this yourself easily so use the binary version!

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Beans
    29,420

    Re: Mounting Vista spanned volume

    Fire up synaptic and look for ia32-libs package and install the 32bit library for your machine, http://packages.ubuntu.com/intrepid/ia32-libs. Then, try to run that command again.
    In the world of Linux, who needs Windows and Gates...

    Got most of my golden beans at an auction on eBay (with a couple of free drinks).

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    61

    Re: Mounting Vista spanned volume

    Quote Originally Posted by taurus View Post
    Fire up synaptic and look for ia32-libs package and install the 32bit library for your machine, http://packages.ubuntu.com/intrepid/ia32-libs. Then, try to run that command again.
    Thanks, those libraries allowed the command to run, but it something didn't go right:

    Code:
    patrick@Ubuntu-Desktop:~/linux-ldm-0.0.8/test$ sudo ./ldminfo --dump /dev/sda
    ldm_parse_privhead(): Expected PRIVHEAD version 2.11, got 2.12. Aborting.
    ldm_validate_privheads(): Cannot find PRIVHEAD 1.
    Something went wrong, skipping device '/dev/sda'
    patrick@Ubuntu-Desktop:~/linux-ldm-0.0.8/test$
    Do I need to wipe this installation and install the 32-bit version of Ubuntu? The only reason I chose the 64-bit version was because of my processor (Q6600).

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    61

    Re: Mounting Vista spanned volume

    Same thing with the Ubuntu 8.10 32-bit..

    Code:
    patrick@Ubuntu-Desktop:~/Desktop/linux-ldm-0.0.8/test$ sudo ./ldminfo --dump /dev/sdd
    ldm_parse_privhead(): Expected PRIVHEAD version 2.11, got 2.12. Aborting.
    ldm_validate_privheads(): Cannot find PRIVHEAD 1.
    Something went wrong, skipping device '/dev/sdd'
    patrick@Ubuntu-Desktop:~/Desktop/linux-ldm-0.0.8/test$
    This is beggining to feel like a lost cause.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    61

    Re: Mounting Vista spanned volume

    Bump...any ideas?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Beans
    1
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Mounting Vista spanned volume

    i've solved this problem, if u need ask me in icq

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    1

    Re: Mounting Vista spanned volume

    Hello,
    Sorry to dig this post but I need some help.
    @lodrsc, could you post what's the fix?

    I'm stuck with that
    ldm_parse_privhead(): Expected PRIVHEAD version 2.11, got 2.12. Aborting.

    I'm trying to mount my spanned drives. if there's a different way to do that other than using the manual here http://www.mjmwired.net/kernel/Docum...stems/ntfs.txt , let me know.
    any answer would be great.

    thanks

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •