Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Can't ping the other PC

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    103

    Can't ping the other PC

    I added an ethernet adapter (Realtek chipset) to each one of my two PCs and connected them with a crossover cable. I get green light in each adapter, the hardware autonegotiation is successful, and if I boot Knoppix in both computers I certainly can upload the interfaces and ping both PCs without problem. But I can't do this in Ubuntu.

    In Ubuntu with iptables loaded any attempt at pinging gets no response. If I flush iptables and set default policies to ACCEPT, and then issue a ping command, I get a "sendmsg: operation not permitted" message.

    Can anyone help? I really have no idea on what's going on here.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    103

    Re: Can't ping the other PC

    Also if I boot Knoppix in one PC and Ubuntu in the other I cannot ping anymore.

    So it is Ubuntu's fault.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    2,031

    Re: Can't ping the other PC

    Did you set up a static IP address for each machine? Since you are connecting these machines via a crossover cable, there shouldn't be any sort of DHCP server running to give out IP addresses unless you set that up too.

    Posting your /etc/network/interfaces files from both machines with Ubuntu and the results of the ifconfig -a command might be helpful as well.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    103

    Re: Can't ping the other PC

    Did you set up a static IP address for each machine? Since you are connecting these machines via a crossover cable, there shouldn't be any sort of DHCP server running to give out IP addresses unless you set that up too.
    Yes, after boot up I write:

    In PC#1:
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig eth1 192.168.0.1
    In PC#2:
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig eth1 192.168.0.2
    This allows pinging under Knoppix, but fails under Ubuntu:
    From PC#1:
    Code:
    ping 192.168.0.2

    Here's what you asked for:


    PC#1:
    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    
    eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:08:54:a5:e0:13
              inet addr:192.168.0.1  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:39 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:1368 (1.3 KB)  TX bytes:5688 (5.5 KB)
              Interrupt:18 Base address:0xd800
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
              RX bytes:692 (692.0 B)  TX bytes:692 (692.0 B)
    
    nas0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:13:49:03:fa:55
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:174157 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:144962 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:218382784 (208.2 MB)  TX bytes:13667481 (13.0 MB)
    
    ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
              UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1492  Metric:1
              RX packets:79047 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:78147 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
              RX bytes:88553347 (84.4 MB)  TX bytes:4664524 (4.4 MB)
    Code:
    cat /etc/network/interfaces
    
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    
    auto dsl-provider
    iface dsl-provider inet ppp
    pre-up /sbin/ifconfig nas0 up # line maintained by pppoeconf
    provider dsl-provider
    
    auto nas0
    iface nas0 inet manual
    PC#2 has the same interfaces (they were configured to replace each other). The ip addresses for the eth1 are the ones I setup with ifconfig
    Last edited by Roque; March 25th, 2009 at 09:40 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Not heaven... Iowa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Can't ping the other PC

    How is route configured. Is "the other" PC set as gateway?
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    103

    Re: Can't ping the other PC

    Here's the ouput of "route" in PC#1:
    Code:
    route
    
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX *               255.255.255.255 UH    0      0        0 ppp0
    192.168.0.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth1
    default         *               0.0.0.0         U     0      0        0 ppp0
    PC#1 is where the modem is connected, but I am not trying (yet) to set it as a gateway or to share internet access. I am only trying to establish a basic connection between both PCs under Ubuntu.
    Last edited by Roque; March 26th, 2009 at 12:38 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Can't ping the other PC

    Maybe a stupid question from my side here.
    but, ehm,

    are both pc's in the same network?

    edit: Meaning the same workgroup.
    Last edited by mhgsys; March 26th, 2009 at 12:30 AM.
    When your thread it solved: go to thread tools > Mark this thread as solved
    for SIS 771/671 use xcompmgr to have transparent terminals. just load it at startup.

    And then they asked: what's a pbkac error?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    103

    Re: Can't ping the other PC

    Sorry for the dumb question, but how can I determine that?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Can't ping the other PC

    Well,

    The only way I know to do what you want to do is to have samba installed on both pc's.

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install samba
    Then make sure that there on the same network by


    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/samba/smb.conf
    There you'll find your network name and sharing settings. Edit them as you like
    restart samba

    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/samba restart

    I guess it would be possible in other way's as well, if both pc's are booting linux,
    Anyway, I only know this way,
    When your thread it solved: go to thread tools > Mark this thread as solved
    for SIS 771/671 use xcompmgr to have transparent terminals. just load it at startup.

    And then they asked: what's a pbkac error?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    103

    Re: Can't ping the other PC

    Ok, thanks. But for now I only want to confirm that each PC can communicate with the other one. As I said, in Knoppix I can verify this with ping; something in Ubuntu seems to be conflicting with the connection.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •