Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Yamaha Audiogram 6

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    68
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Yamaha Audiogram 6

    i can confirm Yamaha Audiogram 6 is plug and play, out of the box, no driver install whatever in both ubuntu studio 10.04 and Fedora 14.

    it shows in sound preferences under hardware as USB Audio CODEC, as well as under jackd inputs.

    i have used it successfully with modeling software and vst plugins.

    the usb connection is perfect, however the line-outs had noise in the output when connected to the line-in of the audio card.

    any of the stereo inputs easily accept the mono input for a guitar with active pickups. although the point is moot

    the controls are very subtle and very good (almost too subtle). unless the guitar is run through a DI box and then to the Mic imput of the Audiogram. the control settings such as comp and gain then become much more vibrant especialy the phantom power.

    Awesome, awesome sound.

    the Audiogram 6 itself has a good weight to it. seems solid and well built. definitely a piece of machine.
    the buttons and knobs i confirm are a lil on the cheap side.
    Last edited by xwindowsfan; March 3rd, 2011 at 09:12 AM. Reason: corrections

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    123

    Wink Re: Yamaha Audiogram 6

    Quote Originally Posted by xwindowsfan View Post
    i can confirm Yamaha Audiogram 6 is plug and play, out of the box, no driver install whatever in both ubuntu studio 10.04 and Fedora 14.

    it shows in sound preferences under hardware as USB Audio CODEC, as well as under jackd inputs.

    i have used it successfully with modeling software and vst plugins.

    the usb connection is perfect, however the line-outs had noise in the output when connected to the line-in of the audio card.

    any of the stereo inputs easily accept the mono input for a guitar with active pickups. although the point is moot

    the controls are very subtle and very good (almost too subtle). unless the guitar is run through a DI box and then to the Mic imput of the Audiogram. the control settings such as comp and gain then become much more vibrant especialy the phantom power.

    Awesome, awesome sound.

    the Audiogram 6 itself has a good weight to it. seems solid and well built. definitely a piece of machine.
    the buttons and knobs i confirm are a lil on the cheap side.
    hey man dont know if youll get this hope so,I was thinking of getting a yamaha audiogram because i run guitars into my powered mixer but i cant get good sounds into my comp,but you said noise is a problem from the line outs which is where u run your sound into your comnput3er right?what kinda sound?is it from too loud of volume.Is it worth the price?Thanks

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    1,541

    Re: Yamaha Audiogram 6

    Hi, you need a preamp, like this

    http://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-a...channel-preamp

    http://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-a...rophone-preamp

    or any dedicated guitar interface that sends proper signal levels.

    I have A Fender Mustang usb amp that sends a pristine usb signal to
    linux fx, or it's line-out/headphone-out combo jack sends a slightly
    hotter signal, to the soundcard line-in, and uses the amps hardware volume control, both sound excellent.

    http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guita...61791000001000

    Cheers

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    68
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Yamaha Audiogram 6

    it could have been the sound card I had the stereo output connected to. it could have been my ubuntu configuration. it could have been the 'Y' cable I was using (2 1/4" to mini 1/8"). it could have had something to do with mono input - stereo output. but just remember Audiograms primary connection to pc is USB. also, according to the manual the stereo outputs are for powered speakers not a connection to a soundcard. I suggest downloading a copy of the manual to become more familar with the layout.

    as far as the noise, i can't remember exactly what it was. lil pops, maybe a lil hiss. it was not 100% clean and that's bad. of course it was only the sound output, I did not test if it comes through a recording.

    I have recently upgraded my pc, and switched Linux distros' as well. so I will test it out again in the next few days as I have yet to do that with my current setup. I really believe it was more of a problem with my configuration not the fault of the Audiogram. as it is a nice lil piece of equipment.

    best wishes

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    68
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Yamaha Audiogram 6

    I'm sorry I have not had time yet to test it, but I still will.

    will post results.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    68
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Yamaha Audiogram 6

    Quote Originally Posted by stephenstop View Post
    hey man dont know if youll get this hope so,I was thinking of getting a yamaha audiogram because i run guitars into my powered mixer but i cant get good sounds into my comp,but you said noise is a problem from the line outs which is where u run your sound into your comnput3er right?what kinda sound?is it from too loud of volume.Is it worth the price?Thanks
    I have since tested the Audiogram line outputs. with the Y cable I was able to go through the stereo output but not through the mono outputs. as a note: you still have to have the USB cable connected to "power" the unit. with the USB connections I get x-runs but I have not tested with a RT Kernel. however with the stereo output run through an Asus Xonar ST line-in there was no extra noise interference, no hiccups, and the overall output was stronger. I set Jack to use the sound card as both output/input and can switch between USB and line-in.

    forgive me for the extremely late response, I have been busy. perhaps this will help others as well. as far as inexpensive interfaces the audiogram is still first rate.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Beans
    4

    Re: Yamaha Audiogram 6

    Here' the deal, I've tried the Audiogram6 on ubuntu studio 10.04, and it is recognized and able to record into audacity, and so far I've only got it to record in audacity, now if you want it to play music from your computer into your headphones, this involves work that I cannot do, but if you simply want to monitor your self while recording, it works fine for that, but playback I have to do from the on board sound card, but vocals and guitar and electric violin and piano all record well on it with not hassle, but I repeat, playback is something that I cannot get working, If someone has figured this out please help me because I want to keep this device and linux.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Beans
    4

    Re: Yamaha Audiogram 6

    I take it back, I got it working, I don't know what I changed but it just up and worked after I unplugged my headphones and plugged them back in, don't ask me it doesn't make sense, It works great.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    1,541

    Re: Yamaha Audiogram 6

    Are they usb headphones? usb devices can swap IDs when various items are hotplugged, or the system is rebooted with things in different usb slots.
    Look at the qjackctl wiki for links 4 and 8, to configure jackd, and qjackctl.
    The screenshots are a big help. Youtube videos for ardour, hydrogen,
    zynaddsubfx, rakarrack, often cover basic qjackctl connections, so
    you will be able to record with many other softwares in addition to audacity. Install ladspa, and select sound in audacity, like word processing, the the effects menu comes alive, and you can some schmalz
    to your recordings.

    timemachine is good for live recording, with sound routed through fx like
    rakarrack, guitarix2, calf-plugins etc all set up with qjackctl
    virtual in/out cables. Audacity imports the default .w64 extension files

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qjackctl
    produced by timemachine, and exports in the other common formats.
    Cheers
    Last edited by sgx; January 7th, 2012 at 12:23 PM.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    5

    Re: Yamaha Audiogram 6

    I own a Yamaha Audiogram 3 and I never got it to work under any *nix distro but I might just give it a try again after reading this thread.
    I'll report back in a few days!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •