Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie: How to install Ubuntu Server Edition without a CD drive?!

Beans

Question Newbie: How to install Ubuntu Server Edition without a CD drive?!

Hi all.
    I'm a bit of a newbie to Linux and Ubuntu really, but I want to install a copy of Ubuntu Server Edition (possibly version 6.06/6.10, rather than 8.10, as I only have 128MB of RAM and 512MB storage to play with), but on a system which has no CD drive - it can only boot from a USB drive or via the network.

Is there a simple way to put Ubuntu Server Edition on it??

I have tried downloading a Server Edition .iso file (ubuntu-6.06.2-server-i386.iso), and putting that on a USB stick with UNetbootin - but when I run it, it still moans about not being able to find the CD drive... I have also tried the 'alternative install' CD .iso... again with no luck...

I can install 'standard' Ubuntu using the '6.10_NetInstall' version, and that works 100% - but is there an equivalent simple way for the Server Edition??? (as I don't really understand what PXE, GRUB, etc is!)...

Any help would be amazing!
    Thanks!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Re: Newbie: How to install Ubuntu Server Edition without a CD drive?!

If you put the usb stick in and it still says it's looking for a cd drive then most likely you need to go into the BIOS and tell it to boot from usb not cd. Often they have a list of devices and you need to move the chosen one to the top of the list. And if that machine doesn't seem to have usb boot support (many older ones don't) then you can't boot from usb. I installed Fedora once from network but it was real messy and I don't know if Unbuntu has such an option.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by BkkBonaza View Post