Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Mounting another hard drive

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    76

    Mounting another hard drive

    i jst installed an other hard drive, and i'm trying to remimber the program i used to mount new hard drives, but i can't seem to remember(i used to play with linux alot but i forgot most of it.)
    -hardware-M2A-VM(motherbroad)-AMD 64bit-using motherbroads video out
    -software-heron-ubuntu-linux-(noob)
    -mythtv-wine

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Beans
    29,420

    Re: Mounting another hard drive

    What filesystem is that new harddrive? You just need to add an entry in /etc/fstab to have it mount automatically each time you boot.

    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    sudo blkid
    cat /etc/fstab
    df -h
    In the world of Linux, who needs Windows and Gates...

    Got most of my golden beans at an auction on eBay (with a couple of free drinks).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    76

    Re: Mounting another hard drive

    Code:
    root@Zola:~# sudo fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00058b24
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *           1       59323   476511966   83  Linux
    /dev/sda2           59324       60801    11872035    5  Extended
    /dev/sda5           59324       60801    11872003+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
    
    Disk /dev/sdb: 81.9 GB, 81964302336 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9964 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xc302c302
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdb1   *           1        9553    76734441   83  Linux
    /dev/sdb2            9554        9964     3301357+   5  Extended
    /dev/sdb5            9554        9964     3301326   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    root@Zola:~# sudo blkid
    /dev/sda1: UUID="c7a0122e-e4e3-4cd2-9a53-ea0b398321e3" TYPE="ext3" 
    /dev/sda5: TYPE="swap" UUID="98475daf-4115-4c07-9f33-0c578d4b2cff" 
    /dev/sdb1: UUID="3e82d6a1-3bea-46a7-a3f3-97d7adee0d7d" SEC_TYPE="ext2" TYPE="ext3" 
    /dev/sdb5: UUID="455da4f3-7e0d-43c4-b481-ab7d13b1bbe2" TYPE="swap" 
    root@Zola:~# cat /etc/fstab
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
    proc            /proc           proc    defaults        0       0
    # /dev/sda1
    UUID=c7a0122e-e4e3-4cd2-9a53-ea0b398321e3 /               ext3    relatime,errors=remount-ro 0       1
    # /dev/sda5
    UUID=98475daf-4115-4c07-9f33-0c578d4b2cff none            swap    sw              0       0
    /dev/scd0       /media/cdrom0   udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0       0
    root@Zola:~# df -h
    Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda1             448G   29G  396G   7% /
    tmpfs                 2.0G     0  2.0G   0% /lib/init/rw
    varrun                2.0G  208K  2.0G   1% /var/run
    varlock               2.0G     0  2.0G   0% /var/lock
    udev                  2.0G  2.8M  2.0G   1% /dev
    tmpfs                 2.0G  848K  2.0G   1% /dev/shm
    lrm                   2.0G  2.4M  2.0G   1% /lib/modules/2.6.27-11-generic/volatile
    here you go, btw, the 500gb is sata and the one i'm trying to bring in is ate or eta or however you spell it and it looks like it isn' even loading it, fun.
    -hardware-M2A-VM(motherbroad)-AMD 64bit-using motherbroads video out
    -software-heron-ubuntu-linux-(noob)
    -mythtv-wine

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Beans
    29,420

    Re: Mounting another hard drive

    Did you by any chance install Linux on the second harddrive, /dev/sdb1 (82GB)?

    If you want to mount it, edit /etc/fstab

    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/fstab
    and add this line to the end of it.

    Code:
    /dev/sdb1   /media/sdb1   ext3   defaults   0   2
    Save it and exit gedit editing window. Now, create that new mount point and mount it.

    Code:
    sudo mkdir /media/sdb1
    sudo mount -a
    df -h
    In the world of Linux, who needs Windows and Gates...

    Got most of my golden beans at an auction on eBay (with a couple of free drinks).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    76

    Re: Mounting another hard drive

    ty, that worked like i wanted it to.
    -hardware-M2A-VM(motherbroad)-AMD 64bit-using motherbroads video out
    -software-heron-ubuntu-linux-(noob)
    -mythtv-wine

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Beans
    4,925
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Mounting another hard drive

    Quote Originally Posted by little cazy View Post
    i jst installed an other hard drive, and i'm trying to remimber the program i used to mount new hard drives, but i can't seem to remember(i used to play with linux alot but i forgot most of it.)
    If the drive is formatted in FAT/FAT32/NTFS/EXT2,3 then it will appear in Places. Clicking on it will mount.

    If you want to mount it everytime at bootup then you will need to edit your fstab.

    I have a tutorial to help.

    http://www.stchman.com/part.html
    Windows XP - Excellent computer virus detector.
    Windows Vista - Most bloat for the money.

    Visit my Ubuntu Resource Website http://www.stchman.com

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •