Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: iMac g3 with Rage 128 gives frame buffer error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Raider Town
    Beans
    4
    Distro
    Xubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    iMac g3 with Rage 128 gives frame buffer error

    Hi all. I've been trying to install a spartan Openbox system on an old iMac G3. I've installed a base command line system, and can log in fine. Upon installing x.org however, I began to run into problems. Here are the errors I got:
    Code:
    (EE) Unable to find a valid framebuffer device
    (EE) R128(0): Failed to open framebuffer device,  consult warnings and/or errors above for possible reasons
    (EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration
    And here is my xorg.conf:
    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier    "Configured Monitor"
        HorizSync     58-62
        VertRefresh   75-117
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier    "Default Screen"
        Monitor       "Configured Monitor"
        Device        "Configured Video Device"
        DefaultDepth  24
        SubSection
            Depth     24
            modes     "1024x768" "800x600"
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
        Disable "glx"
        Disable "dri"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier    "Configured Video Device"
        Driver "r128"
    EndSection
    Thanks guys,
    NK

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Raider Town
    Beans
    4
    Distro
    Xubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: iMac g3 with Rage 128 gives frame buffer error

    Please guys, I told a friend I would get this system up soon, and I already formated the drive, so I don't want to be stuck with a text only setup. Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Beans
    784
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: iMac g3 with Rage 128 gives frame buffer error

    I don't have an iMac G3, but from what I remember, I would try with "DefaultDepth 16"
    You may find these threads interesting:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=405934
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1058232

    Are you trying to install Intrepid or Hardy?
    PowerMac G5 Debian Squeeze - MacOSX Leopard / Lenovo 3000 N200 Debian Wheezy
    PowerPCFAQ, PowerPCKnownIssues, Booting the Installer on PowerPC, Yaboot - How to configure the PPC Bootloader

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Raider Town
    Beans
    4
    Distro
    Xubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: iMac g3 with Rage 128 gives frame buffer error

    Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately, even after changing the color depth to 16 bits I get the same errors. I am trying to install Intrepid simply for the up to date packages. And believe me I've poured over those two threads. Is it necessary to have frame buffering or can I turn it off as that seems to be the base of the problem?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Beans
    784
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: iMac g3 with Rage 128 gives frame buffer error

    I find, that for so old Hardware is a good idea to install an old version of Ubuntu (even better Debian). I used often Debian Etch (4). Even after such Installation X may not work, but at least you get a starting point to work.
    After getting a woking X, you can backup your xorg.conf and use it in other newer version of X
    PowerMac G5 Debian Squeeze - MacOSX Leopard / Lenovo 3000 N200 Debian Wheezy
    PowerPCFAQ, PowerPCKnownIssues, Booting the Installer on PowerPC, Yaboot - How to configure the PPC Bootloader

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Raider Town
    Beans
    4
    Distro
    Xubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: iMac g3 with Rage 128 gives frame buffer error

    Great advice, I'll try Etch today.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Beans
    784
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: iMac g3 with Rage 128 gives frame buffer error

    You may find also this thread interesting
    http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?t=37098
    PowerMac G5 Debian Squeeze - MacOSX Leopard / Lenovo 3000 N200 Debian Wheezy
    PowerPCFAQ, PowerPCKnownIssues, Booting the Installer on PowerPC, Yaboot - How to configure the PPC Bootloader

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    17

    Re: iMac g3 with Rage 128 gives frame buffer error

    I was working on a G4 Cube today and after installing Hardy I got the same "Failed to open framebuffer device" errors that you encountered.

    I made changes to the xorg.conf that are discussed in http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=772808 (Thanks avtolle) and when I rebooted it went straight to a log-in screen. This thread also references another iMac thread http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-770033.html that is specific for G3 iMac.

    I would think that, since you're working on an iMac, if you kept your xorg.conf Monitor section HorizSync 58-62 and VertRefresh 75-117 iMac settings and made the other specified changes you may have some success.
    Last edited by roym4; March 18th, 2009 at 01:19 AM.

  9. #9

    Re: iMac g3 with Rage 128 gives frame buffer error

    With an iMac G3 350 (ATI), all the examples of xorg.conf worked for me when I added the following line in the "Device" section:
    Code:
    Option "NoInt10" "true"
    (Ubuntu 11.04)
    Narcis Garcia

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    1,021

    Re: iMac g3 with Rage 128 gives frame buffer error

    narcisgarcia, I'd be interested in seeing your full xorg.conf file if you are using ubuntu 11.04. Can you post it please?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •