Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: 64 or 32 bits

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mars
    Beans
    265
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Question 64 or 32 bits

    how do i chek whether i have 32 or 64 bit computer "??

    how to find this ???

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Beans
    829
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: 64 or 32 bits

    When you first boot up your system you can look in the BIOS and see what sort of processor you have. For instance, the machine I am typing on has an AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+
    If variety is the spice of life, monotony must therefore be the kiss of death.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Hamilton, Canada
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: 64 or 32 bits

    It depends on your processor.

    Run this command:
    Code:
    lshw -C cpu
    See "Width".
    Last edited by Kareeser; March 12th, 2009 at 05:32 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mars
    Beans
    265
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: 64 or 32 bits

    width: 64 bits


    so.. i use 64 bit computer ....dont i ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Hamilton, Canada
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: 64 or 32 bits

    That value denotes that your processor is capable of supporting 64-bits. However, it is possible to install a 32-bit operating system onto it, which, while it will run properly, will not be utilizing your processor cores to its full potential.

    To check to see whether ubuntu is running 32-bits or 64, run this command:
    Code:
    sudo uname -m
    64-bit ubuntu will have "_x86" appended to the end.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    /home/martrn
    Beans
    501

    Re: 64 or 32 bits

    Quote Originally Posted by kimikrishna View Post
    width: 64 bits
    so.. i use 64 bit computer ....dont i ?
    Yes ...

    ... a cpu with of 64bit is a 64 bit cpu (or 64bit computer). Install a 64bit operating system if you can.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Kerala,India
    Beans
    534
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: 64 or 32 bits

    in a livecd:
    Code:
     cat /proc/cpuinfo
    ofcourse ,Ubuntu 8.10 64-bit is working fine for me.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: 64 or 32 bits

    An interesting tip :

    Code:
    grep ' lm ' /proc/cpuinfo --color=auto
    The lm option in "flags" = a 64 bit cpu. I have found this the most reliable way of identifying 64 bit cpu.

    uname -m / uname -p identifies the kernel you are currently running, but not what the cpu is capable of (if you are running 32 bit on a 64 bit processor, uname will return 32 bit processor ).
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mars
    Beans
    265
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: 64 or 32 bits

    Quote Originally Posted by bodhi.zazen View Post
    An interesting tip :

    Code:
    grep ' lm ' /proc/cpuinfo --color=auto
    The lm option in "flags" = a 64 bit cpu. I have found this the most reliable way of identifying 64 bit cpu.

    uname -m / uname -p identifies the kernel you are currently running, but not what the cpu is capable of (if you are running 32 bit on a 64 bit processor, uname will return 32 bit processor ).
    i got this for uname : i686 (so what i am having ? )

    i got this for bodhi.zzen :
    Code:
    krishna@ubuntu:~$ grep ' lm ' /proc/cpuinfo --color=auto
    flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm constant_tsc pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl est cid cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
    flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm constant_tsc pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl est cid cx16 xtpr lahf_lm

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mars
    Beans
    265
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: 64 or 32 bits

    so what now ??
    i am having 64 bit computer ....

    but what about my ubuntu ?? is it 64 ?
    thnxx
    Last edited by kimikrishna; March 12th, 2009 at 02:36 PM.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •