Thread: Looking for a guide for ABSOLUTE beginners

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Looking for a guide for ABSOLUTE beginners

I'm looking for a guide for Ubuntu that's written for people that are completely new to computers. All the guides I've found seem to cater to fairly advanced Windows users converting to Ubuntu.

I have an aunt that truly has no clue when it comes to computers, and I've been getting her set up with an Ubuntu laptop so it was inexpensive, and fewer worries like viruses and defragging.

By no clue, I mean she asks me how to create a new folder, or where to download the internet. She used Windows a little bit before this, and literally thought of The Internet as the Big Blue E (Internet Explorer icon).

Does anyone have a guide that is geared towards true beginners, and isn't building on Windows knowledge? I'm not looking for "Beginner's guide to bash" or those sorts - they're still too advanced for her. While I don't mind helping her (I'm the only computer literate person she knows), I don't have enough time to help her through every step.

Any help would be great. If nothing else, it would help to print up a couple simple webpages for her to read.
    Why are uploads slower than downloads? That's easy. When you upload, the computer has to push the bits upward. When you download, the bits just fall by gravity, so it's much faster.

~/ ~/ on the range...

Beans

Re: Looking for a guide for ABSOLUTE beginners

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Quote Originally Posted by darth_indy View Post
    I'm looking for a guide for Ubuntu that's written for people that are completely new to computers. All the guides I've found seem to cater to fairly advanced Windows users converting to Ubuntu.