Thread: Linux newbie here needs help installing xubuntu on iBook G4!

Beans

Linux newbie here needs help installing xubuntu on iBook G4!

Hi, I am really new to linux and I am looking to put xubuntu on this old late 2004 model iBook.

My specs are:

iBook G4 1.2ghz
    512mb of RAM
    ATI Mobility Radeon 9200 32mb VRAM

I know this could probably run Ubuntu fine, but I want a lightweight OS, so xubuntu is the way to go for me.

Couple questions first.

1. Where do I get the xubuntu PPC packages from?
    2. Can I install xubuntu on my external hard drive? Its formatted in HFS+ but I suppose I can reformat it if need be as well. My internal hard drive is only 30 gb and I really would rather not partitioning it. I want to keep Mac OS X 10.4 on my internal, well having xubuntu on my external.

And my most important question of all is...

Can I please have a step by step easy guide to installing this on a iBook G4

Thanks !

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Linux newbie here needs help installing xubuntu on iBook G4!

Hi NovaFlame

I think what you want to do will be very difficult, I wanted to do much the same with an iMac G4. There are instructions for installing ubuntu to an external HD with a ppc mac on the web (can't remember where, you'll have to google a bit), but they are very complicated and apparently it only works with Hard drives that connect with a firewire, not ones that connect by USB (as mine does).

In the end I decided I had to dual boot from the main hard drive. This meant wiping the hard drive, installing OS X first, (using the OS X installer to partition the Hard drive), Installing OS X on the first partition, then installing Ubuntu on the other partition using the Ubuntu live cd. I couldn't find a recent Xubuntu live cd so I installed the Ubuntu Hardy Heron one (from http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/ports/releases/hardy/release/)