Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Setting up a wireless static IP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    14

    Setting up a wireless static IP

    Hi yall, I need your help: can you tell me how to set up a wireless IP address in ubuntu?

    Whenever I put my subnet mask in the gnome network manager, and I press ok, the system ignores it and puts 24 (instead of 255.255.255.0). All my other settings stay after I put "ok".

    If you can tell me how to put another network manager (without using internet in my Ubuntu machine), or just explain me another way to get wireless internet using a static IP, I will be pleased

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    1,792

    Re: Setting up a wireless static IP

    Hi. This is probably pretty simple, but it's hardly an absolute beginner question.

    If you don't get any response, try taking it to the appropriate forum. Experts elsewhere will help you set up your system.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CA
    Beans
    846
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Setting up a wireless static IP

    a value of 24 is shorthand for 255.255.255.0. Usually it's represented as something like
    192.168.1.1/24
    which would be an IP of
    192.168.1.1
    and a subnet mask of
    255.255.255.0

    if you open a terminal and type

    Code:
    ifconfig
    you should be able to confirm the IP and subnet mask of the connection.


    That article you referenced is out of date. wicd is now in the ubuntu repositories.

    Just
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install wicd

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New York
    Beans
    149
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Setting up a wireless static IP

    You don't have to install anything really. I recommend simply editing your interfaces file located in the /etc/network directory.

    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/network/interfaces
    Your existing interfaces file might look like this:
    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    You should add lines as shown in the example below - replacing the example parameters (in bold) with those that match your application:

    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    iface wlan0 inet static
    address 192.168.1.106
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    gateway 192.168.1.1
    wireless-essid linksys
    
    auto wlan0
    After you save the file, you can invoke the settings by issuing:
    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart
    If you enter the correct parameters, you should be online.
    ...and so castles made of sand fall in the sea - eventually... Jimi Hendrix

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    14

    Re: Setting up a wireless static IP

    Quote Originally Posted by abyssius View Post
    You don't have to install anything really. I recommend simply editing your interfaces file located in the /etc/network directory.

    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/network/interfaces
    Your existing interfaces file might look like this:
    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    You should add lines as shown in the example below - replacing the example parameters (in bold) with those that match your application:

    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    iface wlan0 inet static
    address 192.168.1.106
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    gateway 192.168.1.1
    wireless-essid linksys
    
    auto wlan0
    After you save the file, you can invoke the settings by issuing:
    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart
    If you enter the correct parameters, you should be online.
    The problem is, whenever I try to edit my files, this comes up in the terminal:

    ** (gedit:6758): WARNING **: Could not write gedit state file: there has been an error while trying to create the file <</root/.gnome2/gedit-2.Q0BTPU>>: No suc file or directory

    I/O error: No such file or directory
    I/O error: No such file or directory

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    1,491

    Re: Setting up a wireless static IP

    Directly editing /etc/network/interfaces may not work as well when you use wpa_supplicant (and that's what both network manager and for instance wicd use). If you just want a static IP on your network because you want to be able to access your device from some other device, it is as simple as simply configuring the router properly and binding a static IP address to the MAC (hardware) address of your WLAN card/dongle. You can get the hardware address by examining the output of
    Code:
    ifconfig
    .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Baja Oklahoma
    Beans
    1,652

    Re: Setting up a wireless static IP

    If you just want to keep the same IP address for a computer, do it in the router settings. If you're trying to do something else, please explain it more clearly.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •