Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Toggle Workspaces

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    55

    Toggle Workspaces

    Is it possible to toggle workspaces with a keyboard shortcut in ubuntu? Right now I can shift one left, or shift one right. Once I get to the end of the line though it doesn't wrap around to the other side, it just stops. Is there any way to achieve what I am looking for?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    1,796

    Re: Toggle Workspaces

    You want to continue past two, to get back to one?

    Interestingly, this appears to be a problem for gnome. XFCE and KDE do it, as does windowmaker.

    Look here:

    http://reachbeyondgrasp.blogspot.com...-in-gnome.html

  3. #3

    Re: Toggle Workspaces

    The best way to go about doing this is to enable Compiz-Fusion and the Advanced Desktop Effects. You can check out my fairly straightforward guide HERE. After installing the proper packages, go to the Compiz-Config Settings Manager and there are several options available under desktop. If you dont want the desktop cube, I would suggest enabling the Expo plugin.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    1,796

    Re: Toggle Workspaces

    I don't use compiz, but keep in mind that some users complain that it interferes with movies and some video. It's also not the best solution for old systems, or those with less than optimal video cards.

    If you're unhappy with compiz, post back for other solutions.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    55

    Re: Toggle Workspaces

    Yes I want to keep going past two to get to one.

    I would rather not enable advanced desktop effects given the limited system resources on my laptop.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Toggle Workspaces

    this is actually one of the reasons why I switched recently from gnome to KDE. I couldn`t figure out how to switch between desktops without using arrows and nobody was able to help me. Strange that such advanced desktop as gnome definitely is doesn`t have this funcionality...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    1,796

    Re: Toggle Workspaces

    How do you do so in kde without using the arrows?

    In gnome, also, you can put the cursor on the edge of the screen, and using the scroll wheel change between them. I discovered this feature by accident.

    It does seem strange that this is not possible in gnome. I used it all the time in wmaker.

    I guess this is an issue with the desktop manager, not the window manager, so you could try running xfce or something else inside of gnome. that would solve it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Toggle Workspaces

    In KDE you just Ctrl+F1 (f2,f3 etc.)...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Horsham, UK
    Beans
    432
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

    Re: Toggle Workspaces

    Compaq HP Proliant 5500 quad 550MHZ 500MB cache 1.5GB Ram
    Shes my baby but doesn't she make a Load of noise!!!
    www.houseofhawkins.com - My development site with bits and bobs on

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Freiburg
    Beans
    3
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Toggle Workspaces

    When you using Compiz on normal or special mode (Karmic or Intrepid) you will not able to use wmctrl to use switch the workspaces the described way (you will only have one workspace). I have described the way to accomplish that here

    http://wiki.impressive-media.de/doc/...ctivated-gnome

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •